the break down; a store, a girl, and her breakfast sandwich

Posted on August 3, 2014

0




Here in Boston, I know that my fridge is not alone in feeling deeply affected by the rift between Arthur T, and Arthur S Demoulas. Whether or not it’s really or officially the “last stand of the middle class”  or not, standing with the people who, at ground level, provide me with the ingredients to make any or all of the crazy concoctions I’ve attempted in the past. Seeing how this family feud has changed the ability of local farms to continue to provide the store with food, and what the long-term effects of this will be on everybody it touches.

Boycotting my favorite grocery store has led to several meals delivered, and then eventually attempting to substitute with shelf-stable foods from other “cheaper” grocery chains, and produce from much more expensive ones, it’s not the same. Not at all.

IMG_8074

There is no way one can walk into an Aldi, or at the other end of the spectrum, a Whole Foods and ask for pine nuts, and be directed to one aisle, then quickly have the same young man run clear across the store to tell you he’s just remembered that if it was a larger quantity I was after that I should instead of following his first instruction, head to the produce section and right below the died fruits I would find another package, about one and a half times the size for about $1.25 more.

At least this is my experience. Even with all the apparent chaos and drama that people I know bitch about when they describe a shopping trip at MB, I’ve only encountered other customers who have been unruly, or completely unable to occupy the same space in an appealing manner.

IMG_8087

So, while I wait it out, and hope for the best, and prepare for the worst – which I’m sure I can’t fully comprehend, though I’ve read a great many articles, and heard a variety of speculation- I am cooking like a college kid on a strangely tight budget, or someone who’s unaccustomed to shopping for themselves.

IMG_8091

 

 

 
Breakfast Plate
serves one

Ingredients
greens of your choosing, spring mix, arugula, kale
eggs
cheese
1-2 thin slices of artisan bread, rough chopped
rice wine vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

How to:
Arrange greens to cover plate- dress evenly with vinegar.
In a medium pan, warm butter and evoo.
Cook eggs partway, then add cheese and turn to low- cover til cheese melts evenly.
Remove eggs and plate ontop of greens.
In the same pan, adding more butter or evoo as needed, over medium/high heat, toss bread til lightly toasted.
Add to plate and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_8092

 

 

 

 

