Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

Posted on April 28, 2014

10



It’s not that I don’t like making them gluten-free” one voice said “I think you should try to bake it next time with a roasting pan with water below, you know?” the other voice said; my head whipped around to find this conversation immediately. It was another personal trainer and her client next to me and my trainer. At last! I found my people!

20140428-225740.jpg

Usually at the gym I hear a lot of grunting, clanking weights, and “hey bro, how you doin?You do legs today?” (read: nothing that really interests or applies me) but never ever anything about food. I was quick to discount the times (plural) my personal trainer has asked about my diet.

The only way the word “diet” has ever really applied to my life is the nutritional sort of definition: the sum of food consumed by a person.

He doesn’t seem to share in this definition, and only seems to get cranky when I talk about baking, or show him a picture of what I made. Bro- you asked what I did for the weekend, so I showed you… Don’hate… Cause it sure as hell ain’t gonna stop me.

20140428-225849.jpg

Chewy Oatmeal Cookies adapted from smittenkitchen
Heat oven to 350F

1/2 cup of butter, room temp or softer
1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup white sugar
1 large egg (I substituted the egg for flax seed, which I sometimes do with quick breads, or cookies where the mealy taste of flax meal won’t be as noticeable…)
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup raisins
(Could add nuts or chocolate chips instead/as well)

20140428-233000.jpg

In a big mixing bowl, cream the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.

In another bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together. Combine this with the butter and sugars. Finally add in the oats, raisins and other ingredients if any.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, scoop out cookies and make sure they have some space to spread as they bake (over an inch on all sides is safest…)

20140428-232932.jpg

Bake for a total of 10-15 minutes (depending on your oven…) I usually set a timer about 6-7 minutes and rotate baking sheets 180 degrees and finish baking – cause my oven will not cook evenly if I don’t do this… Let them cool thoroughly before removing from baking sheet.

20140428-233151.jpg

Posted in: cookies, dessert