spicy banana bread

Posted on January 7, 2014

5



20140107-103501.jpg

I have to admit, I’m a bit of a banana hoarder. I don’t buy them as often as I probably should (my life could probably do with a bit more potassium in it…) but then I’m so picky about consistency when it comes to fruits and vegetables that once they look or feel a bit too ripe it’s straight to the freezer with them. I then end up with a gallon bag or two with brown bananas ready to become something new.

I have made quite a few banana breads in my day, some with oats in it, some with flax seed, some with sugar coating on top, and some with booze mixed in. I was looking for something new though. Something to distract from the fact that I was home due to more snow and bitterly cold winds. (Read: putting something in the oven meant that I could not stay outside too long shoveling the driveway and sidewalk, I clearly had a valid excuse to hover over the oven for the majority of the 45 mins it takes to bake…)

20140107-103547.jpg

After a great deal of searching I found something that I didn’t think I’d tried before- adding spices to banana bread. It seemed like a ballsy choice, but I didn’t really have anything else that I wanted to shovel to do so I went for it.

20140107-103526.jpg


spicy banana bread

  • Servings: 2 loaves
  • Time: 55 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
* 6-8 very ripe bananas, smushed
* 1 stick, plus 2 tablespoons salted butter, melted
* 1-3/4 to 2 cups light brown sugar (if you like it sweet, go for 2, I used more like 1-1/2)
*2 medium eggs
*1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
*1-1/4 teaspoons vanilla bean paste (optional, if not using I’d add a bit more extract, but I have a heavy hand when it comes to vanilla…
*2 teaspoons baking soda
*scant 1/4 teaspoon salt
*1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
*1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
*a “pinch” of allspice
*3 cups of all-purpose flour, sifted

In a large mixing bowl, take a potato masher, or other large implement that can be used to smash as well as incorporate other ingredients.

1. Smush bananas until they are fully broken down. Add in butter, sugar and eggs, and vanilla fully incorporating each one before adding the next.
2. In a medium bowl, combine all dry ingredients: baking soda, salt, spices and flour, and sift into wet ingredients until fully combined.
4. Lightly grease loaf pans (I used a 4×8 and two mini pans but this recipe will fill two larger 4×8 pans) and fill to just below lip of pan.
5. Cook at 350f or until you can do the toothpick test and have it come out clean. This time varies depending upon your oven, the size of the loaf, ecc.

