time flies, when you’re having fun

Posted on November 20, 2013

1



It has been a miserably long time since I’ve been able to even figure out how to make enough time for essential tasks when I get home from work, let alone things I want to do. Now that I’ve finally found some, I’m leaving my laundry to fend for itself, and I’m finally, finally able to update my blog.

20131120-224751.jpg

This is the nature of the beast before the holidays when you work in residential construction. So many loose ends to be tied up, and only a few days to do it in.

Since the season is already upon us, if you pay too much attention in some stores you’d almost believe it’s Christmas Eve!

I saw what looked like a Hubbard squash the other day that was at the very top of a pile of other winter squash. I bought it before I even thought of what I might make with it, and after it staring me down every night when I got home, I found something to make.

20131120-224921.jpg

honey glazed, roasted vegetables
preheat oven to 475•F
serves 6, as a side

In a large (I used a 4 quart Pyrex mixing) bowl mix the following:

3 carrots, peeled, washed and chopped into rough 1/2″ pieces

1 squash, peeled, washed and chopped into roughly 1/2″ pieces

3 potatoes, washed, scrubbed and chopped into 1/2″ pieces

2 small (or one large) yellow onion chopped into similar size pieces as the other vegetables

Toss with:

just shy of 1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup honey (you can use more if you want a less subtle honey flavor, more of a direct sweet taste)

In two baking dishes covered with parchment paper and spread out the vegetables evenly on each dish – drizzle remaining glaze over until used up. Cover tightly with aluminum foil.

20131120-225028.jpg

Bake for about 40 minutes or until the vegetables are soft all the way through, I like to rotate my baking dishes at least once during baking. I always try sticking a fork in the hardest (here, it was the squash) vegetable and it’s a good opportunity to taste test. Take off foil and bake for another ten minutes.

20131120-225149.jpg

Take a serving bowl, or that 4 quart bowl you had before, that now you’ve rinsed and set aside, and once you’ve coerced all the food off the baking dishes into the bowl… Sprinkle with

2 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar (or white wine vinegar if you have that instead)

Mix and serve warm or room temp. Can be made ahead and reheated as necessary.

Shown below paired with chicken fried steak, one of the least attractive example of gravy I’ve made in a long time, and a slightly more photogenic side salad.

20131120-225159.jpg

