black bean salad

Posted on July 23, 2013

4




Recently I’ve noticed the serious lack of vegetables on our plates. This is our first summer without a CSA share in a few years, and sadly, it’s a noticeable difference. Since I couldn’t see spending the money this year on a share, lets chalk it up to the fact that there aren’t enough hours in the day especially for such a slow and tedious task as food shopping.

One thing that I like when I’ve fallen into a rut of the food sort is to get somebody else in my kitchen with me. It kicks things up a bit. Not only to I have to think about where I store thing, so that somebody else can find them, but I can even sometimes force them into a grocery store with me after work so that I don’t have to die of boredum; alone, in the freezer section go it alone. My little sister is just the kind of suckahkid for this job.

bbsalad3

I drove, she googled. We are both some of the least clean, and or “put together” people after work; she is apprenticing for the summer, we get pretty filthy at times.

We were entertaining a vegetarian for the evening, and when I have to cook to comply with vegetarianism, it’s like I’m broken I literally can only think of things involving pancetta and some kind of beef. Thankfully with our two heads put together we finally¬†found some hot-weather-appropriate foods that we could all enjoy.

bbsalad1

This salad was based off a Martha Stewart recipe,

We made a TON of it.

We used

5 ears of corn (use frozen if its all you have)
1/2 pint fresh grape tomatoes, loosely chopped
2 cans (14 oz?) black beans, rinsed
small bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped
1 large onion, diced
1/2 jar of roasted red peppers, loosely chopped
and dressed it with fresh squeezed limes – 4 limes, I think.

I think it all really depends on how much you are making and how you like the ratio. We did a pretty even mix of corn, to black beans.

This is a delicious side salad or something to dip chips into, or might even be good to have with or on bbq meal.

I have made several versions of this salad over the summer, and nobody is sick of it yet.

bbsalad2

