spinach, anjou pear, feta and cranberry salad

Posted on March 11, 2013

8




Hi. My name is Julia, and I’m a Doritos addict.

It can’t be that I’m old enough to not be reproducing taste buds as fast as I should, cause even though I feel decrepit at times, I’m not even thirty yet.

I don’t like to categorize myself as a “picky eater” but when it comes to my taste buds, those guys are kinda hard to impress.

I constantly want to taste salty foods, but try (read: except while inhaling family sized bags of these tragically tasty chips) to watch my sodium intake. Even when I’ve just had something sweet to eat, I want it to be followed up with something strong or savory. This is a complex situation while snacking, since I struggle past the chip/cracker/junk foods aisle every time I shop.

salad1

I’ve finally begun to figure out a good “meal replacement” for these bags’o’food colored chips.

Plus it’s a dead giveaway that you’ve just had them, cause the tips of your fingers stay dyed orange until scrubbed. If that’s what it does to my fingers, what the hell is it doing to my guts…?

For the weekend, I like to try to clear out space in the fridge, pantry, freezer, you name it- lets use it up. This is sometimes effective and sometimes yields less than awesome meals.

I can’t remember what I bought spinach for, cause I honestly can’t remember (aside from when purposely hidden in lasagna) a time when Mr Julia was a willing participant in eating spinach…

salad2

Spinach, Anjou, Feta and Cran salad
serves one

2 handfuls of spinach, washed, spun out, stems removed ( used kitchen shears, which made it wicked easy)
1 Anjou pear, pitted (is that what you call it when it’s a fruit?) and chopped up into bite sized pieces
2 (+/-) tablespoons crumbled feta cheese, or add to your taste
2 (+/-) pinches of dried cranberries (I used up the rest of the craisins I had left over from making cookies)

salad3

Dressing

In a small cup, bowl or jar mix (and alter once you taste it)
1 part olive oil
1 part white wine vinegar
1/2 part honey
1/2 clove garlic, minced well
Add to taste:
Salt
Pepper
teensy bit of fresh minced parsley (or preferred herbs, dried or fresh, whatever is on hand)

This managed to hit the points of my palate that needed some attention. Just sweet enough, with a kick of vinegar that favored that kick I usually search for in a bag of chips. The bonus, it didn’t cost $4.99, I didn’t have to leave the house to get it, and I didn’t have to feel the over-full-guilt of poor food choices that always accompanies my usual snacking choices.

salad5

Posted in: recipes