everyday as valentines day

Posted on March 8, 2013

3




Valentines day is not usually a big deal in our house, it’s usually acknowledged, but doesn’t usually find us as excited participants. This year was no different, really. I made it home early, well, before 7pm. I decided I would shower, relax, and order in some dinner as a gift of no dishes for myself. It was surprising to get gifts from my boyfriend, but they were gladly received. Now I just need to find time to tollerate the mall…

I never really put any stock in Hallmark holidays, and think that every day should be a day that you have the ability to tell someone how you feel about them, or give them mushy cards, or whatever your deal is. It’s also one of the worst nights to go out to eat, in my opinion.

The awful pasta dishes I managed to order for supper ended the night on kind of a sour note, but … I still didn’t have to wash dishes, so it still went to the win column.

vday cookie1

I’m not a huge fan of coconut. I will try coconut shrimp on occasion. Often times, I haven’t been all that into it, cause sometimes it’s soggy, or it’s maybe a contrast of textures that doesn’t work out all that well for me. I made some baked coconut shrimp not that long ago that happened to be much better than I expected. Sauce needs a bit of work, but it was the first time I had bought coconut, since it was taking up space in a pyrex container that I wanted to use for something else. I searched until I could find a recipe for cookies that didn’t sound nasty, that had coconut in them.

I thought I’d give it a whirl, and these turned out to be so good that EVEN my dad, who hates coconut with a friggin passion liked them a lot, or so I heard. I’m not sure what I was focused on, but apparently the original recipe was not it! These are not refrigerator cookies. Oh, but I made them into some!

vday cookie2

Roll the dough out into a log – and hopefully you can do a better job than I did… I suggest not using parchment/tin foil stuff, cling film works a thousand times better. One should try to get the log of dough into some kind of uniform thickness at least. Maybe make two more manageable length rolls? I’m not sure what the best way to do it is, but not the way I did it is a good place to start.

vday cookie3

See why you want them to be the same? It’s a sand-wich-coo-kie. Did I think about this at all? Nope! I just tossed them on the parchment paper and thought eh, maybe they’ll melt and round themselves out a little when cooking… Well! That, people, does not happen. They don’t need much room, so an inch tops is good between cookies.

vday cookie4

Told ya! These are cooked. They look only ever so slightly different from the uncooked/frozen picture of them.

Let the cookies cool completely, spoon a bit of filling in them, and try not to crush these delicate little cookies when you put the sandwiches together. They are pretty fragile, light, and crisp. They make a nice noise when you bite into them.

vday cookie5

Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies
adapted from Paula Deen

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
40 – 50 drops  red food coloring (or until desired color is achieved)

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 sticks butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
3/4 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened)

Mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs 1 at a time. Then beat in the milk, vinegar, vanilla and red food coloring. Once combined, add the dry ingredients to wet. Mix until thoroughly combined.

Roll in a plastic wrap or other such item. Chill for at least 1 hour. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Cut into thin slices, roughly 3/8″ thick.

Bake for 10 minutes, until baked through. Cookies should be light. Allow to cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Frosting:
In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated, add coconut. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.

Posted in: cookies, dessert