sausage casserole

Posted on November 23, 2012

2





Yesterday was a little less crazy than some Thanksgivings can be. I had the usual marathon, running from one house to the next, not really enjoying as much wine as I would like to given the fact that I’d have to be getting back in the car not long after the glass was poured.

When I returned home after eating delicious foods, annoying my family with my new speedlight flash for my camera, finally learning to play whist,  and participating in black friday sale with my friend, I finally returned home to recieve a little notice from WordPress that my blog is two years old!

How fitting, since it’s also the day that we I overeat for hours! Thank you all for taking time out of your busy lives to read about mine and the things that I try to make happen in my kitchen – your kind comments and visits are never unnoticed, though sometimes it takes me longer than I’d like to respond to you.

I made my first casserole. Ever. The other day. This might be because nobody in my immediate family has made a casserole, that I’m aware of, unless you count fritatta or lasagna as a casserole, which I’m pretty sure not many would. I don’t ever usually think I’m above much in life, aside from cool whip. Using cream of mushroom soup for the first time ever to cook with made me feel a little awkward though. One might even go as far to say, uncomfortable.

This was just another exercise in avoiding food shopping, really. Something I’m famous for forever doing. Something about leaving the house on a chilly Sunday when I could just bum around the house and listen to the sometimes frequent yells directed towards the football game. The grocery store is my arch nemesis sometimes.

Sausage Potato Casserole
adapted from Taste of Home
serves 6-8


1 lb kielbasa (chopped into thin, roughly 1/4″ rounds)
1 can (10-3/4 oz) condensed cream of mushroom soup
3/4 cup of milk (cream or sour cream can be used as substitutes)
1/4 cup onions, diced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1-1/4 lbs potatoes, peeled, washed and thinly sliced (I think uniform slices are more important than the exact size)
1 cup grated/shredded melting cheese (I used cheddar)

Cook and drain sausage – make sure you drain the sausage well because otherwise the casserole will look freakishly greasy, like mine did.

Mix in a medium prep bowl: soup, milk, onion, salt, and pepper.

Preheat your oven to 350F.

In an ungreased 7×11″ baking dish layer half of the potatoes, then half the soup mix, followed by half of the sausage. Repeat these layers until you have used up all of the ingredients – I only got two layers of each.

Cover you baking dish with a piece of tin foil and bake for 1-1/2 hours or until the potatoes are completely tender, which is why it’s a good idea to make sure all your potatoes are the same size, cause I was stuck with a variety of “doneness” on the top layer of potatoes in mine.


Uncover and sprinkle with cheese until covered. Bake for 5 more minutes or until the cheese is completely melted.

Wait until this has cooled down a little bit before you dive into it. We had our’s with some rice and peas. It’s good when reheated the next day (or two?) for a quick weeknight meal.

