onion rings

Posted on November 13, 2012

0




I suggest that you stop what you are doing, and make yourself some beer batter – or for a possibly more reasonable suggestion, just add it to the next meal that you make…I would go with about half, or even a quarter of the amount that I made for the fish and chips that I made the other night. I was able to to make two medium-large-ish sized onions along with all the fish that I cooked, and I still tossed out some of the batter.

This way you can pour off only about a third of a beer into a bowl, and make a third of the recipe linked above, and then you can drink the rest of the beer while you cook, which is not a bad idea, in my mind…

I sliced my onion rings large, because I was hungry, and just wanted to cook these up and EAT! I tossed them around on a plate of flour to dredge them, though I did it haphazardly, since I was rushing, and there were definite whole rings and even more sides that didn’t get all the way covered in flour, but what I realized about this whole beer batter thing is that the flour AFTER the batter, though it seems excessively messy…

The beer batter is sticky enough, and thick enough to coat things well, and if it were thin enough of a coat, it would make sense to cover that in flour, but still… what happens when you fry things coated directly in flour like that, versus the way that I carelessly (without reading the recipe fully, tsk, tsk!)

I’m pretty sure I know why, now that I’ve thought this “aloud” – it would probably have to do with how much moisture the food will hold it, because the oil hitting a coating like flour or breadcrumbs makes a lot more sense to keep enough moisture INSIDE the food than if you coated them like I did… but if I’m at all wrong about this, please somebody call me out on it!

These onion rings were pretty much the favorite of all the fried foods I made that night. They went first, and they went fast! They were good with some BBQ sauce, or some ketchup with a dash (heavy or light, whichever way you roll) of hotsauce. I will be testing this recipe with different beers, different onions, thin versus thin sliced, and maybe different vegetables sorta like beer batter, instead of tempura since tempura makes some people’s stomach’s go cray-cray? I think it’s worth a try.

I was obviously quickly/easily swayed by my first attempt at beer batter, once you try it, there might be no turning back – you were warned… I may not try it again until the spring when we have a serious amount of good/clean air circulating through our house though, cause the smell of grease hangs really well, and no matter how good that candle on the counter smells when you stick your nose really close to it – it ain’t gonna change much about the whole house smell.

Make sure your oil gets nice a hot if you are using the same oil like I did for the previous frying, I brought it back up to 375F (using my thermometer to check, but if you don’t have one, throw in a 1″ cube of white bread and if it browns in 50-60 seconds that is supposed to be 375F) and cooked the onion rings in small batches so that the oil temperature wasn’t lowered too much by overcrowding and I was able to cook them fairly quickly. Keep fried foods warm in an oven heated to 200F until all the rest of your food is ready! Don’t reuse your oil, but dispose of it safely.

