burrito-fritatta-muffin-sized bowls

Posted on October 23, 2012

2




I have a love/hate relationship with leftovers. I feel like they should be used, not thrown away, if they’ll stay good long enough for me to figure out what to do with them… The hate come into play when I can’t figure out what to do with them and they sit and take up useful space in the fridge, only to be tossed by trash day.

When I made burritos the other night, my partner in crime fell asleep before being able to eat anything. Shocking behavior for somebody with such a ferocious appetite as this guy, but sometimes being that sleepy happens. I didn’t pack burritos up as a lunch, cause that would’ve been tricky to eat on a jobsite.


Instead of tossing this filling, which I had very little clue as to how I could use it (because one of the few things that I dislike more than throwing out leftovers, is eating the SAME exact meal over again – variety is the spice of life, aaaannnnd it’s also tastier that way) so I stared at it, every time I went into the fridge to get something. It was like the burrito filling was staring me down by the end of the morning.

I figured the closest thing that I could figure to make would be a fritatta of some sort, only I didn’t want to mix it into an eggy filling. I wanted to have the flavor stay sort of dense, if you will. Intact. I just needed something to hold it in, or put it on to serve and eat it easily. I had about 2 cups of filling left over, and I didn’t think that I could use all of it up, but I wanted to use most of it.

Burrito Cup Appetizer
makes about 12 cups
preheat oven to 350F

make 1 to 1-1/2 cups rice of your choice – I used jasmine because it’s what I have the most of right now
mix rice with 2 medium eggs (make sure it’s eggy enough to be wet and hold it’s shape well once it’s pulled out) and 1/4 cup grated (small) cheddar cheese (or some other good melting cheese) mix well!

grease two regular sized muffin tins

spoon a couple tablespoons of rice mixture into the muffin tins, enough to cover the entire inside with about 3/4″-1″ of rice : with wet hands push the rice down and create a little hollow in the rice to fill with filling

spoon leftover burrito filling into rice cups. sprinkle a bit of grated cheese on the top of them, and bake until the rice/egg is cooked – I think I cooked them for about 15-20 minutes?

