steak tips

Posted on October 22, 2012

2




Steak tips are a great summer meal, but sometimes the weather, and my desire to wash dishes sync up beautifully and grilling can happen in October. I made smashed potatoes, because I still have not invested in a potato masher, nor did I ever think of putting the cooked potatoes in my stand mixer or food processor until the other day… Perhaps I’ll try that next time…

I’m no expert infront of a grill. I am in fact the least savvy griller of things I know. I’m fimiliar with charcoal, and prefer the smell and taste of things grilled with charcoal. I don’t have a charcoal grill, however, and the gas grill that is in our back yard, is on it’s last leg, literally, it’s being held up by a rock on one side…

But, if even can manage to make these steak tips and have them be eatable, anybody can.

The steak sauce, or marinade (I could’ve made more of it and NOT put it on the raw meat, then used it for a sauce, but I was not thinking about anything but prepping this for the next night and moving on to the next thing) that I made for these stake tips has a bit of the staple ingredients of your average steak sauce, or simple marinade, but I don’t think I’ve used honey before to make a marinade before.

Steak Sauce
for a few pounds of steak tips

1/3 cup italian dressing
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup (+/- to your taste) ketchup
1-1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
salt & black pepper (to your taste)
1-1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
3 teaspoons worcestershire sauce

marinate overnight in an airtight container

grill medium-well, and remember to use all the sauce by basting the tops of tips with leftover sauce in the bowl, or bag (however you store marinating meats in your fridge)

 

