meatballs, including chicken

Posted on October 20, 2012

7



shhh don’t tell… I added ground chicken to these meatballs. They are made from the same recipe that I usually use, but I subbed one pound ground chicken, and the rest – 2 pounds of ground beef.

I used a mixture of seasoned breadcrumbs and plain. Some fresh parsley and arugula, minced. All I had was dried basil, so that’s what I used. I much prefer fresh basil, but something, or someone has been chomping on my little plants in the back yard so much that there aren’t any full leaves left.

They ended up being slightly smaller (golf ball sized) than I usually make them, which means I cooked them a little bit longer than I wanted to. I should’ve checked them at 30 minutes.

My favorite thing about making a metric ton of meatballs once in a while on a dreary-do-nothing-Sunday is that I can freeze them in bags of 4-6 (depending on size) and then I can easily whip up a dinner on a weeknight, or on any night I don’t particularly feel like standing and cooking.

