burrito with a side of whimsy

Posted on October 19, 2012

2




I am stuck in a rut. A rut full of eggs. While I would agree with the statement “eggs can be added to pretty much any meal” in my kitchen it means I most often am guided by poor planning, or distracted shopping, and now to “fill” for dinner, I’m adding some eggs.

I’ve become a fan of the poached egg, as of this year. Which had often even displayed on top of a plate of rice. Tonight, no different. Well, only slightly…

I had planned on making chicken enchiladas with some chicken I had left over (and, you guess it- shredded) which was about to overstay its welcome in the fridge. Enchiladas were shot down, and burritos were strongly suggested as an alternative.

Since I bought beans the other day and made some fusilli with them, I figured, why not add some mini white beans into our last-minute burritos. Mostly because they were the only proper (not dry and needing to be soaked forever) beans I had in the cupboards.

I suggest making rice beforehand. Or using up leftover rice is an excellent idea.

Last-Minute Burritos

coat the bottom of a 12″ skillet with oil (I used vegetable, or… Was it olive? I can’t remember…)

Throw in:
1 small onion, diced
1-2 teeny cloves of garlic
1 habanero pepper, minced (if you like spice, or if you are like me, and forget how spicy they are until they are already totally mixed in)

cook until tender

add squash, diced
Green Peppers, diced
Whatever other vegetables you like should go in according to cooking time- aka, broccoli or carrots and other things that need to cook longer than soft vegetables mentioned above should be added between.

Make 1 cup of chicken broth and use some to make your rice and add a little to the bean/veg mixture to aid in steaming.
Add shredded chicken. Stirring constantly.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Warm tortillas according to their directions, or if you make your own… Keep them warm…? I don’t know- that’s my next task: making tortillas!

Side tracked, sorry. Now, start to assemble! Add your salsa and whatever other burrito condiments/toppings (what do we call that- act of accessorizing your burrito?) I had to eat these almost open-faced, I over filled them… tsk-tisk! I need to get bigger tortillas next time.

Words of wisdom:

GET SOME GOOD HOTSAUCE! It’s a must. Even though I had a whole habanero in the filling, I still added some scotch bonnet sauce, because I’m pretty much obsessed with it.

This went pretty well with Sam’s Octoberfest which has been a staple in our fridge (as it is every year) since it came out at the end of the summer.

