no-bake oreo cheesecake

Posted on October 6, 2012

2




My MO lately has been to buy Oreos while they are on sale. It’s amazing the things you can stick these buggers in! Mash them up, or just sneak a handful or make some cupcakes. It’s nice to have a reserve in the snack drawer, whenever I get the feeling to make something, theres usually enough to tackle most any recipe.


I do not believe that cool whip should be eaten. I refuse to buy it. I’ve never intentionally eaten it, either. So when I found this “low fat cheese cake as a parfait” recipe, I assumed it was low fat because of the cool whip. I however didn’t even think of buying cool whip, and went with regular whipped cream. The natural and all fat option.

No Bake Oreo Cheesecake
realistically serves 8, serving it to 4 is a bit of an overload

8 oz package of Neufchâtel cheese, at room temperature
1-1/8 teaspoons vanilla extract
8-10 oz fresh whipped cream (made with confectioners sugar so it’s a little less damp)
12 oreo cookies, roughly chopped
8 small glasses or 4 oz quilted jam jars
2 oreos chopped up to top them

in a stand mixer make your whipped cream (with whisk blade attachment) and set aside in another bowl in the fridge.

chop up oreos, set aside. mix neufchâtel cheese and vanilla extract in stand mixer, and add 12 oreo cookies and mix together. fold in whipped cream. separate into cups for serving – chill in the fridge until ready to eat.

these stay good for about three days, which is probably longer than you need… I only needed it to be in the fridge for an hour, and then I killed it.

