Caprase Salad

Posted on October 2, 2012

1




I was talking to Aunty Cathy about our basil plants. She has a much more serious garden than I do… See example of mine below…

She remarked that she was showing her friend how well they were doing this summer “see how the pesto is doing?” I too refer to my basil as its final product, but since I have a minuscule amount, I refer to it as caprase.

I like to make a balsamic reduction sauce when I have time to focus on the stovetop, but traditionally (in our family) we just drizzle with balsamic and olive oil, and sometimes I mix them prior to pouring over with some really well minced garlic.

Fresh (just off a living plant) basil is undoubtably the best choice. Sometimes this is not an option- and since I put my poor little plants outdoors somebody has been eating them before I could even get to them.

