chicken pasties

Posted on October 1, 2012

0




Can you believe it’s October? I can’t believe that time has passed this quickly! It seems like just yesterday I was sweating to death, trying to find some shade at work, and eager to go anywhere that might have air conditioning.

oh, chicken pot pie homemade hot pocket?

Why, yes. In a manner of speaking. Though pasties probably could contain a wide variety of combinations of fillings, these ones were made of chicken pot pie filling, and a crumbly crust that I use when I make pot pies. When I saw the most delectable looking chicken pasties on a website recently. I had to make them! Mine look like the ugly stepsister to those pretty ones I saw, but… I should’ve chosen another crust recipe yet again!

These are all the deliciously fresh vegetables from the weeks CSA share from Farmer Dave’s in Dracut, MA.

This is what it looks like when it’s thickening up. This is definitely one of those times when you find our who of your friends really dislike celery.

I basically rolled out the dough as much as I could to make it just thick enough – I should’ve just made fewer pasties, or used more dough. I’m not sure why I was trying so hard to stretch it…

Pinch up the sides of it, and brush with egg.

They looked good, smelled good, and tasted good. But while even the slightest bit warm? They disintegrated. Again! Wrong dough. Or should’ve realized we had to eat them cooled down…

Chicken Pot Pie Filling
fills two (+) pies
inspired by Pioneer Woman Cooks – cookbook but I usually use whatever is in the fridge

4 tablespoons butter
1 medium-large onion, diced
2-3 celery stalks, diced
2-3 carrots, diced
1/4 – 1/2 cups frozen peas
1/4 – 1/2 cups fresh (or frozen)
2 – 3 small-medium potatoes (red/yellow/whatever you have) par boiled and chopped up
2 cups shredded chicken
1/4 cup flour (play with this amount the more fresh vegetables you add – when I use potatoes I usually just go with the straight 1/4 cup)
2 cups chicken broth (sometimes a little heavy on the bouillon, sometimes less water)
1/4 (+/-) cup white wine (depending on if I have it, and don’t want to drink all of it, I’ll put it in)
1 cup milk (simply smart is what we keep in the house, so it’s what I use, if I want thicker filling, I do half and half of 2% SS and whatever cream I have)
salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in dutch oven. Add onion, celery, carrots, and rest of vegetables (minus potatoes!) and cook until onion is translucent.

Add potatoes and shredded chicken. Mix. Mix in flour, and make sure to coat all the vegetables and chicken, ecc in flour.

Add in liquids mixing the whole time. Lower heat as you add liquids. Mix constantly. Cook for about 5 minutes after cream is added and then salt and pepper to taste.

Add to pasties, and cook for about 20 minutes or until golden brown. Eat when cooled enough to actually hold the handheld pie.

If not using all of it immediately, it freezes well, or can be kept in airtight container in fridge until you are ready to use it tomorrow, or the next day – but I wouldn’t leave it much longer than that without freezing.

