double peanut butter cookies

Posted on September 29, 2012

6




Would a peanut butter cookie get better with peanut butter chips tossed in? I had to know. I also had a burning desire not to have a bag of reeses chips kicking around for too long, because I might’ve started eating them straight out of the bag… I didn’t change all that much from the recipe that I use when I make peanut butter cookies.

Sometimes I roll the balls in sugar before I press and bake them, sometimes (when I remember that Mr. Peanutbuttercookiesaremyfavorite doesn’t like the extra sugar) I don’t.

I used my new silicone baking mat again. I’m liking this thing, so far. I kind of wish that I had bought two of the regular ones. I got one bread one and one regular. I cooked one sheet on the silicone mat and one on this airbake insulated thing that our roommates suggested (it’s the second biggest baking tray in the house) but I wasn’t used to how it worked, and ended up having a tray of very undercooked cookies, and a silicone mat covered in fully cooked ones.

I wish I’d read the bottom of the tray that says “since it’s insulated it, expect longer cooking times” doh!

I was reminded again about rolling these badboys in sugar. I was on autopilot and just rolled them right into it. Not thinking about what I was doing. Whoopsie! It’s not like it really takes away from the taste… right?

Double Peanut Butter Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies (depending on how large you make them…)
Follow this recipe and make the following changes:

increase peanut butter by 1/2 cup (I used creamy this time)
add 1 scant cup reeses peanut butter chips
increase milk by 1-1/2 tablespoons


Good to eat with a cup of coffee, or a glass of milk! So far they’ve been enjoyed by everybody who’s had them. Though they were the best when initially cooked, and still warm, as any cookie seems to be – the chips help the flavor of peanut butter linger on the tongue, and they stay soft and chewy so that you can enjoy them days later – if they last that long, and  if they’ve been stored in an airtight container.

Posted in: sauce/dip