buffalo chicken dip

Posted on September 26, 2012

7




When I said I wasn’t going to be eating any more chicken for a little while, I lied. In a big way. But really who can say no to Buffalo Chicken Dip?

Not I!

I’ve never made it before though. Not once. But since I managed to make passable brownies for the first time the other day, why not try making a dip, right? Right. Also, I spent an awful lot of time doing not very much at all on the weekend, and I figured it was time to start moving.

Buffalo Chicken Dip
adapted from My Homemade Life

8 ounce cube cream cheese
1/2 c. franks redhot (xtra hot is my preference, but we only have regular right now) sauce
1 tablespoon scotch bonnet sauce (to make extra hot)
3/4 c. gruyere cheese, grated fine
1/8-1/4 c. ranch dressing
1/8 c.  sour cream
3 cups shredded chicken (tomorrow I’ll natter on about shredding chicken and how I make mine in batches)

(the original recipe called for greek yogurt instead of sour cream, but it was what I had in the fridge, so I used it… next time I’ll try greek yogurt for sure)

Step 1: In a small-medium saucepan, melt cream cheese mixed with hot sauces. Mix to combine as is melts. Do this on a low heat.

The point of cooking it on the stovetop and then moving it to the crock pot didn’t really make any sense to me, but then I realized that the temperature on the crock pot was MUCH hotter than I was cooking this on the stove. Next time I may throw a few pieces of celery to dip in this as well, because you’ll keep going back for more of this, and you could at least feel like you could tell yourself you are eating something healthy by using a celery stick as the vehicle for this dip.

Step 2: Add in gruyere, ranch, sour cream and mix until combined. Add in shredded chicken little by little until combined. Also on low heat. Put in bowl and take outside to enjoy the last good sunny days we’ll have (it looks a lot prettier in the sunshine than the lights inside too…)

Step 3: If you are not going to devour this immediately, you can put it in your mini crock pot, which is what we did, but you need to actively participate in this activity*. I had never used it before, and while this was a super tasty choice to christen the minicrock with, I was confused at how to control the temp.


See? It’s way prettier when you take it outside. But we ate it outdoors, and indoors. Ate it til it was gone. I bought a couple bags of On The Border round tortilla chips to eat it with, cause they are easy on the teeth- not too much of a bite back -and they were on sale…

Notes: Watch the pot: My mini crockpot doesn’t have any settings (that I can find…) and so it starts to dry and cook the cheese on the outsides if you don’t stir frequently and the the little plastic top holds in a TON of condensation and you might find puddles of it at the top of your dip. I need to go back and read the paperwork that came with them to see if I’m missing something…

Also, if you get off the couch and then try to get in that mini crock pot to eat more of this dip, watch the static shocks, whoa. Hello!

