lemon & lime meltaways

Posted on September 25, 2012

6




One of my biggest recurring victories is cooking while using all items I already keep in the house. It doesn’t happen often that it works out perfectly, but when it does. Oooh. It’s a great thing.

I found these while hopping from one blog to the next in the hopes that I would find a recipe to stick these forlorn lemons and limes in. I look at them daily in the hopes my alcohol tolerance and bar tending skills will magically double themselves, but I knew that in reality I’d have to bake something. Cooking with them is definitely a road I could’ve googled down, but before I even entertained the idea, I found this recipe.

Limes are so good! The juice is amazing. These had a bit of a dry rind, I’m assuming since they were a bit on the older side than they should’ve been, but the lemon zest added some good color, and some “fleshier” zest to the mix.

I used both lemons and limes, though the recipe only calls for limes.

Sometimes I think I should sift all the flour that I use, but it’s usually an afterthought…

The cookie dough is still a bit wet, but not sticky when it’s combined.

The teenaged boy in me just realized that this picture looks a bit phallic, so, I’m controlling my giggles fairly well, and acknowledging it.

Roll into logs on parchment paper. I ended up rolling each half out, then rolling it up onto itself, to create each log, because of how delicate the dough is, it’s harder to manipulate than a thicker dough. I am very certain that I made these smaller than they were supposed to me too.

After chilling these in the fridge for a minimum of an hour -I waited until two loads of laundry were done, and I felt like standing up and doing something on our lazy lazy Saturday- cut them into 1/4″ slices and preheat the oven.

After 15 minutes they don’t look all that different. But keep an eye on them, because some at the edges of the baking sheet were much more cooked than the rest (on the bottom) which will take away from the soft idea behind these cookies.

Toss in bag of confectioners sugar while still warm.

Lemon & Lime Meltaways
adapted from Smitten Kitchen who adapted from Martha Stewart
makes about 3 dozen cookies

12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
Zest of 2 teeny limes and 2 regular sized lemons
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
2 cups minus 2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar to coat cookies once they are cooked.

In stand mixer with whisk attachment, cream butter, add sugar. Add zest, lime juice and vanilla extract, beat til fluffy.

In a separate (medium-sized bowl) mix together the flour, cornstarch and salt – perhaps sifting them, because if you have lumpy flour like I do, it might be a better starting place. Add to butter mixture on low speed until combined.

Roll into logs on a piece of parchment paper (see above) they should be around 1-1/4″ size, mine were smaller, and barely fit all them on two large baking sheets, plus they seem so small that you can eat a lot of them, so to save yourself the shame of going back several times for more cookies, make larger logs.

Put in fridge for minimum of an hour, or freeze for later – they keep for up to two months in freezer.

Preheat oven to 350F degrees, put coating sugar  (2/3 cup) in a resealable plastic bag. Slice dough into 1/4″ rounds, and arrange on parchment paper with about an 1″ of space between. Move parchment paper onto baking sheets.

Bake until almost golden, about 15 minutes. Cook on wire rack for a few (less than 5) minutes. While cookies are still warm, toss in bag of sugar to coat completely. Place cookies in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks, or until they are eaten whichever comes first.

Posted in: cookies, dessert