sweet potato fries

Posted on September 22, 2012

2




When I’m out, and I order fries, I usually look for sweet potato, or if they don’t have that, I’m gonna wanna see spicy, or curly, or some other descriptive word next to the word “fries”. They have a tendancy to make me feel happier about wolfing down fries, and also… I like the taste better. I’m not knocking regular shoe-string fries, cause they have their place, I just don’t like to make them at home, cause I can’t seem to cut them properly, no matter what, and seasoning things is more gratifying satisfying entertaining? bettah use of my time.

This time I used the slicer side of my grater, because I feel like it’s often times neglected. Usually I just forget that it’s there, and then attempt to cut things in similar thicknesses, and usually fail to do a very good job of eye-balling it.

I did two sweet potatoes, roughly one per person. If I’d thought I would make these, I would’ve tried to buy longer sweet potatoes, as you can get more “chips” out of them, and fit them to cook more evenly in the oven. But… I didn’t. I just aimlessly grabbed at these bad boys. Bagged a few up and rushed home.

I put these on a paper towel to see if I could drain any of the moisture out of them – this apparently was pointless, or just not enough to be very noticeable. It’s so much more visually effective with things like eggplant…

In a bowl, add a few tablespoons of olive oil, I would say that I’ve used roughly 1 or 1-1/2 tablespoons per potato, recently though it really depends on the size of the potato… I have tried to eyeball it, usually, and started tossing in the bowl before adding the next pour, but I have a heavy hand, so it’s a good thing I didn’t become a bartender, it’s also probably why I get shitfaced every time I try to mix myself some drinks… But I digress…

Season these fries!

I have used:
seasoned salt
table salt
pepper
garlic powder
onion powder
chili powder
paprika
cayenne pepper
bay seasoning

It sometimes has to do with what I’m eating the fries with, and if I want to use some of the same seasoning, or if I want to get some sort of contrasting flavors going on. The world is my oyster. whole spice cabinet is under serious scrutiny during this process.

Bake for about ten minutes, then flip when they look like they are curling up a little on the edges (read: toss around on pan with spatula, they are impossible to actually literally flip) and cook until they get crispy on the sides. I took them out while they were still a little soft, because I was rushing dinner to the table, and I wanted something softer for my pre-tooth-removal-mouth to munch on.

Dip in whatever you like. I chose ketchup, he chose BBQ sauce.

