Homemade Hamburger Buns

Posted on September 20, 2012

1




Do you hate food shopping after a workday? I do. I mouth off about it constantly. I manage to forget more things than I remember to buy when I shop after work, the distractions are loud and never ending, and I almost got run over by kids screaming down the aisles last time.

I managed to drag myself into the closest grocery store to our house, because I convinced myself it was on the way, which made me drive home a certain way that involves at least two intersections that are complete shitshows at rush hour. That, and my bank has a satellite location at this grocery store, so it was a 2 birds, 1 stone sort of a situation… But I digress…

I decided somewhere between lunch and the end of the day that I’d make chicken cutlet sandwiches. I ran the idea by my ever-hungry better half, and he seemed to think it was an awesome idea.

I made about a dozen jalapeño poppers so he could try them, and could have something to occupy his mouth and time while I waited on my first attempt at hamburger buns to come to fruition. Making one thing that takes two hours when the rest of your dishes take 20 mins is an interesting, one might say “stupid” choice when you start cooking dinner at 5:45 a good exercise in patience and planning.

I was reminded in a post by Melissa what a good resource kitchn’s blog is, the link is below the recipe title below. And how all this crazy blogging stuff entered our lives, and what we did with it.

I found what looked to be a delicious recipe for buns, and went at it.

I used my stand mixer to make these, although I’m pretty sure I could’ve had an easier time of getting all the yeast mixed in had I opted for the food processor with dough blade combo, over the dough hook and bowl. It just doesn’t reach the bottom the way I want it to.

Hamburger Buns
from theKitchn

makes 8 full sized buns, or you can split into 16 slider buns

1 tablespoon active-dry yeast
1/2 cup (4 oz) warm water
1/2 cup (4 oz) milk (whole, 2%, or skim)
1 large egg
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups (15 oz) all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon butter

Step 1: mix water and yeast in whatever you choose to make this in (by hand, in a larger bowl, mixer, or processor) and let the yeast do its thing for about 5 minutes.

Step 2: while yeast dissolves in a small prep bowl whisk together, milk, egg, oil, salt and sugar – add to water/yeast and mix until combined.

Step 3: add flour to mixture, mix until combined and it may be a bit shaggy looking, this is fine. Set aside covered, in a warm place to rise for an hour (should double in size) or so.

Step 4: on a lightly floured surface, pull dough out and section into however many rolls you are making, and put on a tray that you’ll be cooking them on, and let them rise again for about 30-40 minutes if making 8 rolls you can tell they are ready because they’ll be the average size of a burger bun when done. Depending on how long your oven takes to heat up, preheat now, or when the 40 mins are almost up, to 375F.

Step 5: melt butter, brush the tops of the rolls, and bake for 15-20 minutes, until they are golden brown. Allow to cool completely before you cut into them, because you’ll just end up smushing them around if they are too warm.

