risi e bisi, herbed chicken, and cauliflower

Posted on September 13, 2012

5




Do you like risi e bisi? I do. I won’t lie, when I say it, it sounds more like “reees-beeesy” I’ve had this dish about a million times in my life, but it has been a long, long time since I made it. This is the recipe from my mom’s book. Everybody Cooks Rice. Does it get much better than rice, cheese and peas? Yeah, I thought not. Her book is about my childhood neighborhood, this is a childhood memory, this food. It’s SO TASTY.

Great-Grandmother’s Risi e Bisi
adapted from Norah Dooley’s Everybody Cooks Rice

2 cubes vegetable or chicken bouillon (I did one of each)
4 cups water
1-2 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped (depending on how you feel about garlic…)
1 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups uncooked rice (I used jasmine)
2 cups fresh or frozen green peas (I used frozen and placed them in warm water when I started the rice)
1/2 to 1 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
1/4-1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Use a pot with a tight cover.

1. In a bowl, dissolve bouillon in 2 cups of water, then add the rest of the water. Set
aside. My electric kettle is awesome when it comes to prep like this!

2. Over medium heat, cook garlic and onion in olive oil until the onion is
transparent. Don’t let the garlic turn brown.

3. Turn off the heat and quickly pour in the rice. Stir in the 4 cups of water and
dissolved bouillon and cook on highest heat until the mixture boils. Lower heat
and do not remove lid. Cook for 25 minutes.

4. When the rice is fully cooked, add the peas, stir in Parmesan cheese, and sprinkle with nutmeg

Herbed Chicken. Save this recipe.

I literally didn’t change a thing. It came out REALLY nice.

Make your rice before starting chicken. Otherwise, you’ll have chicken hanging out, just begging to be eaten…

The cauliflower was not my fave. It also wasn’t spot on – to the recipe… I tried to cut it in half. Also, I realized that cauliflower smells a lot more pungent when roasted than broccoli does, and it had been ages since I’d eaten it… Eh… I’m not the biggest fan in the end.

I made more than enough risi e bisi. Enough for probably 10 people. Hopefully it’ll do for lunch tomorrow for me, and dinner for both of us tomorrow night.

Another good idea is to reuse the leftover rice for arancini, if you roll that way… I think I may try that some time in the near future. It’s a great way to get rid of the last bit of prosciutto, or other meat, and the very end of a log of mozzarella.

I’m kinda glad I made too much.

I also got myself my dream camera for my birthday gift. It’s awesome so far. These pictures look better than the previous ones, in my opinion…

