sandwich bread and a grilled cheese

Posted on September 12, 2012

6




When I told the contractor I was working with that I got up a little bit early to make some bread, he seemed slightly alarmed: “You got up at what time to make bread?” I began to explain that I got up literally… 5-7 minutes earlier, and was able to start this bread. Sounds kooky at the surface, for someone who arrives at work at 7am, but given the resources, it’s a logical move towards fresh bread.

They have loads of amazing recipes here. I am recalling this from memory, but here’s hoping Wednesday hasn’t gotten the better of me…

American Style Sandwich Bread
Adapted from ‘Artisan Bread 5 minutes a day’
3 c warm water
1-1/2 tbsp salt
1-1/2 tbsp yeast
1 stick butter, melted
7 cups flour

Step 1: mix everything together, let it sit on counter til it raises, I only had 1 hour, 15 mins til I had to book it yo work, I tossed it in the fridge and ran out the door.

Step 2: hours later, about 12? 14? Who knows on a Monday, really… I folded it into a ball, let it raise in a well greased loaf pan for an hour and 40 mins, if you don’t refrigerate it, cut that time down to 40 mins.

Step 3: brush top of loaf with butter, slice the top a few times, and bake @ 350 for or until golden brown, and sounds hollow when you tap the bottom.

Yeah, 5 minutes a day! So far it’s an awesome book. I noticed it when I was making this great bread I found on an awesome blog that I now have at the top of my bookmarks. I have since made that bread a great many times. I have only made it a few pages into this cookbook, and that’s where I found this “sandwich bread” I made one after it had been sitting in the fridge for 8-10 hours. It is pretty full of butter, which is the only thing I wasn’t sure about, and the only thing that might make me hesitate to make it again.

We had a heap of chinese food leftovers from our “recuperation day” after my birthday. After eating that, some of us were still hungry… So I waited until the bread had just cooled enough. Take a few thin slices (easier to do when cooled, than while still warm..) spread with some pesto, make a few pieces of bacon, or thinly sliced pieces of panchetta, add thin slices of cheddar cheese or some other cheese that melts better but has a sharp taste, and hot red pepper relish.

See my panini press? I love it. I hope some day soon to be able to press things between two pieces of cast iron. I for it for my birthday, this is the first of many things to be pressed. Jeez, you can hardly even see the sandwich under there…

He ate the whole thing. It looked and smelled good.

The bread was really good for a grilled sandwich, turns out. It’s also good for cinnamon toast. Also, regular sandwiches. Basically, I really like this bread, and I still have enough dough to make another loaf in the fridge, just waiting to cook.

