chicken fried chicken, corn fritters and a side

Posted on September 10, 2012

3




Do you see that? That is the smoked paprika and pink Himalayan salt that I allowed myself to splurge on at Whole Foods the other day. It looks pretty when it’s mixed together. It looks much less attractive when it’s being rung up… And I was beginning to think that I was a little too cheap for this whole ‘cooking as a hobby’ thing, until I celebrated my birthday on Saturday – happy birthday to me! Posts to follow about what I made… cause I cooked like ALL day.

While sitting around in a Chinese food coma the next night wondering why I would bother to have had SO MUCH sangria and SO LITTLE WATER, I found the things that I wanted the most for my birthday (that I didn’t happen to already have in hand – thank you friends and fam) on sale. Target has the Kitchenaid Pasta Press that I have been dreaming about, on sale. 20% off, and if you have a redcard, which I just got, even cheaper… Good things come to those who wait, right? Or, cheap bastards, who wait longer cause they don’t want to pay for shipping…

I’m hoping the corn fritter mixture above doesn’t look gross to anybody. It was a much more brilliant orange color in real life. Not this yuckkah color it appears here. My apologies.

Corn Fritters

adapted from The Neely’s

1/3 cup cornmeal
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
1/3 cup well-shaken buttermilk*
1 large egg
2 tablespoons butter
5 green onions, thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups fresh sweet corn kernels (if you use frozen, thaw and drain well)
2 tablespoons canola oil/crisco/younameit , for frying

I doubled the recipe, and went a little heavy on the corn, cause I had 5 fresh corn cobs kickin around in the crisper drawer, and if we are on the subject of me being cheap… well, throwing out my food, I’m not a fan at all. So I made more than we could eat in a sitting, but enough sides for two dinners, and part of leftovers for lunch.

Ok. I may have just decided that corn, mixed with an off color fluid, even if I know it’s corn fritters, and ate it, ecc, just doesn’t look too hot. I may from here on out omit all pictures like this, cause… even as a filler? Not to purdy…

Step One: in a large bowl, whisk cornmeal, flour, smoked paprika, baking powder, salt, pepper, buttermilk and egg. If too dry, add more [butter]milk.

Step Two: in a large skillet, saute green onions until soft (2-ish minutes) then add corn cook for about another 2-3 mins, season with salt and pepper. Fold into batter.

Step Three: wipe out skillet, melt veg shortening, or whatever oil you are frying with, and on a high heat, scoop about 1/4 cup fritters into the skillet. Cook until golden on each side. Drain on clean paper shopping bag, or paper towels.



It seems to me that if you would like to eat all of these things at the same time, you should make the chicken first. I didn’t read the whoooollllle recipe, and so I didn’t realize it would be a seriously long 18 minutes for each set of these to cook through. I also didn’t use our largest skillet. Bad play, cook them all together, all at once, cook fritters after, or in a separate skillet – if you have six arms and a longer attention span than me.

Chicken Fried Chicken
adapted from texas cooking
(serves 4-6)

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (hit it with something to tenderize and make it cook more evenly, making it all similar thickness…)
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1-2 cups all-purpose flour
cooking oil or melted Crisco
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika

Step One: in a small bowl (that chicken will fit in) mix egg and milk. In a small prep bowl, mix the salt, pepper, and smoked paprika and sprinkle on each side of chicken to season it.

Step Two: dredge chicken in flour, dip in egg/milk, then dredge again in flour. Set aside. Heat up oil in large skillet you used to fry those corn fritters, making sure you only have to cook these in one go – and not crowd them too much, hopefully you used the largest skillet you have… oil should be about 1/2″ deep.

Step Three: fry (on high) chicken til golden brown on each side, then cover and cook (on lower heat) for 15-18 minutes until cooked all the way through. Take out of oil with slotted spoon/spatula, and drain.

this is clearly a fritter, not chicken… but I obviously played favorites with these… not many pictures of chicken!

Optional Gravy: get rid of most oil all but 2 tablespoons, use some leftover flour from dredging, roughly 3 tablespoons of it. Whisk at a low heat and brown, as you do when you make a roux, add 3/4 c milk, and 3/4 cup water, mix out any lumps, stir and cook until you reach your desired consistency. Toss on top of chicken, and eat.

My biggest suggestion is that you: MAKE SOME KIND OF SALAD OR VEGETABLE WITH THIS MEAL OR YOUR ARTERIES WILL HATE YOU. I got half way through frying these things, and I thought I had made a crucial mistake by not making something good for you as well…. I then made a little green salad with some feta cheese and a lemon/white wine vinaigrette to lighten the load of fried foods we were about to plow through. It softened the blow, at least visually…

Awww, see? Something healthy. Nice fat cucumbers from the CSA share, and good fresh tomatoes. All very good vegetables this past week. Make a salad in a snap, though I’ve had to start buying lettuce at the grocery store again, which is a little bit depressing, but I’ll manage to get over myself soon enough. Green things next to fried things at least make me feel less like I’ve just made my general health suffer…

I am pretty sure this was the first or maybe second attempt at making any kind of gravy, on my part, it was a little thick, but I was starving, impatient, and really not feelin’ the whole standing up thing anymore. Rushing gravy is probably ill advised, but it was just a little thick, no biggie. It had a nice flavor, and went well with the chicken, and the fritters – it softened the spice from the fritters and little bit.

