general gau’s chicken

Posted on September 5, 2012

0




Not too shabby, for your first try..” he said as he shoveled the food into his mouth. “Oh, yeah? Well, I’ll be honest, the spices came already mixed. I just added soy sauce and stuff to it…” I replied.

No excuses, says Julia Child. And while it’s not an excuse, per se, I just didn’t want to spend a million dollars on spices that I may not be using much more of later on if the first time was a flop. It seemed like a reasonable disclosure.

I may end up buying all of the spices I need later on, because it wasn’t a huge failure. I didn’t really expect it to be disastrous, just, not what we were accustomed to ordering.

One thing that I could do for next time is brown the chicken a little longer. I like crispy chicken, and I didn’t really get it to the place I wanted it when I cooked it this time. One of my biggest beefs with ordering this from the local delivery places is, you never know how the chicken will be: stringy, fatty, crispy, soggy, breaded, plain, grilled, whatever. When you make it for yourself, you can cut all the fat off of it, and pound it into submission, and cook it however you like.

General Gau’s
serves 4
make about a cup of sushi rice, start a bit ahead of time from when you start the chicken.

using about a pound of chicken breast
clean, cut fat off of it, and tenderize if you like by hitting it with something flat/heavy
cut into bite sized pieces
in a bag with about 1/4 c of flour, shake around to fully cover the chicken pieces
in a large saute pan, warm up a few tablespoons of oil
cook chicken until browned and cooked all the way through

In a small mixing bowl (not over heat) combine spices (package included cornstarch, red chilis, ginger, bullion, and… Something else) with 1/4 (minus a tablespoon) sugar, 3/4 water, 4-1/2 tablespoons soy sauce.

Add to chicken when chicken is fully cooked & browned.

Bring to just a boil, then simmer for a few minutes.

Plate on or with rice. Eat.

