french toast with pancetta and grilled peaches

Posted on August 26, 2012

0




 

What do you do when you’re tired, slightly hungover, and can’t seem to make it all the way through your ice coffee without taking a break? Make something to eat. Something that isn’t too hands on. Something you can watch, or not watch and turn down and leave the cooking to join a conversation, and halfway through realize you might not have enough maple syrup to satisfy everybody’s desired coverage of their toast. This happens sometimes. I don’t really pull everything out like I should to get things going, especially in the mornings.

 

I have recently remembered how much I adore pancetta. The Italian bacon, salted pork belly, mixed with a variety of spices, and at the end of the day it’s cheaper than regular (american?) bacon, easier to section up and freeze, and tastier, and above all it tastes a bit sweeter, I think which makes it more versatile than bacon.

 

I wrapped a few pieces of peach and pancetta in my french toast, and if I had a good sifter, or a the attention to detail, or ability to reach the powdered sugar without moving a chair to climb on to reach it I would have tossed some of that on the top. Instead I just stuffed my face and washed it down with my ice coffee.

 

