chicken, broccoli, and whatever type of pasta you like

Posted on August 7, 2012

0




Apparently I have broken my camera. No matter what I do, it just keeps saying “remove battery pack” to me. What the hell. I’m pissed. I was too fertutzed the other night to even remember to pick up my stupid iphone and take pictures with it. So stupid. So, my plan was to use up the whole chicken that was sitting, defrosting in my fridge.

There isn’t much that I dislike more than pulling apart a whole chicken. I usually have the patience for it, but this one was a little skinny one, and I felt like I couldn’t get all that much good meat off it. It really should have been saved for chicken pot pie, or something else that involves boiling the hell outta the thing. Eventually I got all the meat I could find off this thing, and started to actually cook.

This recipe requires three things to be cooking at almost the same time. This means 3 dirty pots and pans. Just know you were warned.

In a large pot, boil water with a bit of olive oil and salt in it for your pasta. In it, cook 1 pound of ziti, or whatever pasta you have in the pantry/cabinets. Cook al dente, and set aside.

In a large (12″ minimum) pan put:

1-1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, trimmed of fat and sliced into bite-sized pieces

Cook on a medium-high-ish heat until the aroma/oils of the garlic come out, and the chicken is cooked through.

Add:
1/2 – 3/4 cups dry white wine
1 cup of chicken stock

In another smaller saucepan:
melt 2 tablespoons butter
add 2 tablespoons of flour, whisk to make roux

Mix the roux into the chicken stock/white wine, make sure it doesn’t clump up

Add: 4 tablespoons -1/2 cup (+) of grated romano cheese – use as much as you would like to some like a lot more cheese than others.

Simmer, and add 2 cups of broccoli florets (fresh or frozen) cook until the broccoli is JUST tender.
Add pasta

Toss with:

2 sprigs parsley, finely chopped
2 sprigs basil, finely chopped
Salt and pepper, to taste

Eat immediately!

Whew. We had leftovers and I used my iphone. Now, back to seeing if I can fix that damn camera of mine…

