cookie bottom cupcakes with marmalade icing

Posted on August 5, 2012

1




How can you say no to a cupcake. I know, I know,  they are a little played out these days. It seemed, for a little while here in Boston like you couldn’t frggin’ spit without hitting a cupcake store. It got to be a bit much. I find it much more tolerable to make them at home. One can completely control the amount of cupcakes made, and the frequency with which they grace the oven. 

To begin. Get yourself a recipe for cupcakes. Don’t worry about icing right now. You can make that tomorrow. For serious. It’s sometimes nice to have one in mind, but unnecessary for the time being. Just focus on the cupcakes for now. I found a recipe that I wanted to use, got out my muffin tins, put some liners in, and dropped the oreos in. Next, make sure you have all your ingredients (I’ve recently tried to become better about doing this, so I don’t scramble around searching for things while trying to cook at the same time, saves the sanity, kiddos, check it out!) put them out on the counter.

Cookie Bottom Cupcakes
adapted from FoodandWine.com

Preheat oven to 350F
Makes about 14 cupcakes

1 cup and 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 1/4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup milk, at room temperature

Mix the dry ingredients in a medium size bowl. Whisk until combined.

In your stand mixer mix the eggs and sugar together, then add oil and butter. Add the flour mixture and the milk alternating in thirds. Mix til just combined. Spoon 2(+) tablespoons of batter over oreos, until there is about a 1/4 in of lining still showing. Cook for roughly 20 minutes, or until you test and it is cooked clean through.

Let cupcakes cool, and you can store them in an airtight container for about 2 days without doing anything with them. Giving you time to get all your stuff together for frosting, or a party. You name it, you’ve got time for it.

I’m obviously not good at icing cupcakes. As you can tell from the pictures featured here, and in other posts, but I try, and try again. Usually the icing recipes that I find are good, but still, they don’t look awesome when I’m done with them. I’ve gotta go take a class or something to get some knowledge.

I really wanted to make this icing with lemon curd, cause I had a good cake made with lemon curd in the icing last week, but unfortunately, all I could find was lemon marmalade. Blech. Weird. It’s got little stringy bits of lemon in it. I used it anyways. No need to leave the house and stop drinking wine, amiright?!

Marmalade Buttercream Icing

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar, sifted
3-4 tablespoons heavy cream
3 tablespoons of lemon curd marmalade

Put butter in stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream. Slowly add sugar, one cup at a time, switching off with the heavy cream, until all is combined. Then mix in marmalade. Taste, alter if need be for consistency (too soupy? add more sugar. too dry? add more milk or heavy cream.)

