Quick Jambalaya

Posted on August 4, 2012

0




The title should probably read “how to cook dinner in under 30 minutes without going to the grocery store” because I flatly refused to waste precious sitting down time after work with the stress of the grocery store, plus, I couldn’t find my list, and I wasn’t interested in making an expensive mistake. I got out of work at a decently early time, but, so did a great many people, or so it seemed.

A few weeks ago Johnsonville sausages were on sale, so I got a few to freeze, and let a bunch of them sit in the fridge, not really knowing what the hell to do with them. So, finally, I had something in mind to use two of the stockpile of sausages in the fridge. Jum-bah-lye-ah. Yeah. I jumped in, without really looking through allllll the cupboards. Never a smart move. But you can always find a way around things.

Jambalaya
(serves about 4 people)

In a Dutch oven, over medium-high heat:
2 tbspns evoo
1 small onion, diced
2 medium-lg cloves of garlic, minced
1 green pepper, chopped bite-size zucchini, chopped up small

Cook until zucchini is tender

Add:
Sausages, copped into 1/2″ rounds (next time I would chop these up smaller too…)
1/2 pint cherry heirloom tomatoes, diced
1 small (6 oz?) can tomato sauce with green chilies
1 14 oz can stewed tomatoes (crush with hands as you add them, trust me, it’s mo’bettah that way!)
1 cup (plus 2-3 tablespoons) water
1 scant cup jasmine rice

Bring just to a boil, then cover and simmer on low for about 20-25 minutes until water has cooked down and rice is fully cooked.

