pulled pork sandwiches

Posted on August 2, 2012

17




After a few hopeless searches, and useless results, and agonizing over recipes (not really, but it felt a little more dramatic than it really was..) I found a pulled pork recipe that I wanted to use. This lady Bridget was able to break it down for me. Took the fear out of pulling pork. Seriously, I’m a New Englander. I don’t pull anything but wires, regularly. The opening paragraph in this recipe sold me. For serious. Go read it. So, fear eradicated, I set this pork thing into motion. I put the rub on and let it set up overnight (5pm-ish, til 11am-ish) in the fridge. Double wrapped in cling film.

I had to substitute a few things in the rub, but it was only because I didn’t have ground white pepper or ground cumin. But I used this wedsite in order to substitute properly. It smelled strong, and spicy, but good. I managed to buy pork shoulder picnic cut – who knew that this means that the meat was cut into three slices. I freaked out a little bit and hoped that it wouldn’t ruin the whole thing.

pulled pork

feeds roughly 6-10 people, depending on how big the sandwiches are, and how hungry the people are…
adapted from Bridget @ crumblycookie
For 4-ish pound shoulder…

Spice Rub:
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1-2 teaspoons cayenne pepper (some like it hot!)
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin (I used more chili, or was it cayenne… . A pepper….)
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon dried oregano
4 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons table salt
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 tablespoon ground white pepper (I used more black pepper)

Take 3-4lb pork shoulder, rub spice mixture into meat. wrap in two tight layers of plastic film, and stick in a plastic bag so it doesn’t leak all over the fridge overnight! Put this in the fridge for several hour, but I found it easier to just let it sit in there overnight.

My god, it looked so tasty! This is what it looked like when I put it in the crockpot. I still didn’t know how the slices of meat, versus the whole hunk of meat would change the cooking time, or anything else. Would it mean that it is over seasoned? It would have more surface area covered in rub than it should have been? Oh the drama!

When you put it in the crockpot: add 1/4 cup of water.

I needed bread of some sort for our sandwiches! I didn’t have terrible time constraints, because the pork was supposed to be in the crockpot for about 8 hours, or as long as it took for it to pull apart easily. I was about halfway through the cooking time of the pork when I started the rolls. After searching for “good recipes for pulled pork sandwich breads” I found a recipe that looked like I had everything I would need to make (including the time it would take to make them) and so I went with Potato Dinner Rolls

There was a lot of down time with this recipe too. Which left me with a LOT more time to sit on the couch and do … a whole lot of nothing. I really should have been cleaning the house or doing laundry, but I caught up with my tv watching and did a lot of looking around for a good bbq cause recipe. One came through, a few minutes late, but that’s life. I’ll just use it for leftovers tomorrow! But back to the rolls… They needed to raise a second time for 2 hours!

Six and a half hours later, my pork was falling apart as I snuck a peek. It smelled like it was cooking up so well too, I couldn’t help pushing it around in the pot.

Potato Dinner Rolls
Make 1 cup mashed (unseasoned) potatoes, this I found out it about 2-3 small potatoes. not 6… Retain some water from cooking potatoes. You’ll see why in a little bit…

In a stand mixer, with dough hook attachment:
2 Large eggs lightly beaten

1/3 cup Sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon Salt

6 tablespoons Butter, room temperature

1 cup Unseasoned mashed potato’s, lightly packed

2 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast

3/4 cups potato water (from the potato you boil ) cooled to room temperature

4 1/4 cups All purpose flour

mix until combined and dough is coming off the sides of mixer. Put in greased bowl, cover in plastic wrap, place in warm place- to rise for 90 minutes. Go do some laundry or something!

After that, lightly flour a surface, break dough into desired size of rolls. I made 12, next time I’ll make more, much smaller rolls, I think. Put them on parchment paper lined pans, cover again with lightly greased cling film, and let these sit for 2hours…

Preheat oven to 350F, cook for 20-25 mins, til bottom is golden brown. While on a cooling rack, put a dab of butter on top to give it a little salty glaze. Mmmm.

These potato rolls were the first time I’d made any bread with potatoes in it. I had no idea that they would spread out as much as they did. I would definitely make them smaller next time. They were light and fluffy, and didn’t fill you up too much so you could enjoy more than one good sized sandwich!

