boozy banana bread

Posted on August 1, 2012

2




I recently went on a little spending spree, online. It was not as bad as the one time I signed up for the CSA under the influence… But, I got a few things that I had been looking at buying for quite some time. A few pairs of sunglasses, a nice little cover for my kitchenaid, with a pocket to hold the mixer attachments, and a new attachment for my mixer.

It is supposed to clean the bowl, like a spatula at the same time that it mixes. I have only used it the one time – today, it did everything that it promised it would. I didn’t have to use the spatula to pull things off the sides of the bowl, nor did I really need to use it to pull things off the bottom of the bowl, or when I poured the bread dough out, it was practically clean – just pulled a little from the sides with the spatula. Awesome. Thanks Amazon for notifying me when things on my wishlist go on sale! That’s so cool of you!

I found this recipe online, and some rum in my freezer, so I googled a few things til I found something that might work out. I didn’t have any dark rum, and apparently I couldn’t follow directions cause I winged it a little bit.

I had been looking at these bananas for a LONG time now – roughly 4 days now they have been getting more and more brown and looked like they really wanted to be made into something. They looked a little on the small side, especially when compared to the multitude of less browned very ripe bananas living in the freezer.

I dumped the following into my stand mixer:

3 ripe bananas

1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed

5 tablespoons butter, softened

3 tablespoons bacardi black raspberry  rum (or a nip, less a tblsp)

2 eggs, beaten

1/3 cup vegetable oil (I substituted with 1/8 cup fage greek yogurt)

1/4 cup buttermilk (if you don’t buy this, like me, make your own!)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 cups white granulated sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 scant teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 scant teaspoon cardamom (I substituted cinnamon)

Put it in a greased 9×5 bread pan.

Bake at 325 F for an hour and twenty minutes. Yes, an HOUR and twenty minutes. It is a LONG ASS TIME. But, that should give you enough time to do something else… When it is cooked, you’ll be able to tell. It will have all the usual signs of cooked banana breads. Let it cool on a rack while you mix up the glaze….

In a small bowl:
Melt 1 tablespoon of butter
empty nip (or add a tablespoon of rum) into bowl
mix in 1/3 cup powdered sugar

whisk until it’s combined.
drizzle over bread.

