mustard and maple roasted salmon, bean salad, and herbed basmati rice

Posted on July 31, 2012

0




I was looking for a dinner I could make in about 25-30 minutes. Had I figured out that I should’ve either grabbed my ipad, or make it so my stupid laptop stops falling asleep, and making the recipes go away every few minutes… it would’ve probably taken just 25 minutes, but even with the distractions and chopping up WAY too many scallions, and dumping a few things out, it was pretty good timing.

Bean Salad
adapted from Foodnetwork.com

roughly 1/2 lb of beans, trimmed and washed (I used white ones cause that is what the CSA gave me, but use whatever color you have…)
boil some water in a medium pot, cook for a few minutes, so that the beans are still crunchy

drain beans, set aside

in a small prep bowl combine:
1 tspn whole grain mustard
evoo (not too much, 1-1/2 tbspns?)
salt pepper to taste
Scallions, chopped small 1 tblspn
Purple onion diced, 1/2 tbspn

Toss beans with dressing, serve warm or room temp, or cold.

Mustard Roasted Salmon
adapted from Foodnetwork.com
Preheat the oven to 400F

In a little mixing bowl:

  • 2 tblspns whole grain mustard
  • 2 tblspns 100% pure maple syrup
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • the juice of 1/2 a lemon

Rinse fish, check for bones, the recipe says to skin the fish, but I think that is usually a waste of time.
Put parchment paper on a pan, place skin down, season with pepper and salt

Cook for about 10 minutes.

Take out of oven brush with glaze, cook again (for about 7-10? minutes) until fully cooked.

Use spatula to pick salmon off skin, if you didn’t previously remove ( this proves much easier, and you don’t seem to lose as much meat in the process…. Or maybe that’s just me…?)

Plate. Enjoy!

I wasn’t sure that this recipe would be a hit. I only made bought about 0.98 lbs of salmon. I made the mistake of thinking that I wouldn’t make it and find it eatable. I’m not sure why I was thinking this. I also should know that my boyfriend can eat about a million servings of most things in a sitting. I also like to buy pieces of fish that look good, rather than think about the actual poundage of the purchase.

It usually turns out the days that he is freakishly hungry, I don’t cook enough food. When we have enough for leftovers – he eats like a normal person. C’est la vie, eh?

Was he hungry, or what. I offered the smallest piece I had on my plate to him – as I started eating it, in the hopes that he wouldn’t take it. He didn’t. Phew. That was close!

It went well with one of my favorite wines. I got turned onto La Crema from Aunties T & D. They have fantastic taste in wine, and they happen to pair them well with many a good meal. I’m catching on, or just forcing my menu for my favorite wines….? Nah, it couldn’t be…. I’m not that good.

Herbed Basmati Rice
In a small pot:
1-3/4 cups water
1 cup basmati rice

Bring to boil, cover and let simmer for about 20 mins until almost all water is gone. Add some chopped up fresh parsley and scallions, fluff with fork, add pepper to taste. No salt needed, in my opinion.

I strongly suggest you enjoy these recipes with a good glass of wine. And follow it up by kicking your feet up and relaxing.

Clean plate club. Yup. We’re in it.

