taco saturday

Posted on July 30, 2012

2




Because I failed to do some good research for pulled pork sandwiches, and didn’t really figure out which way I was going to make it, crock pot, oven, whatever. I also hadn’t checked the weather to see if it would be unbearably hot in which case, the weather would choose crock pot, versus stove for me… I finally chose a rub, and and put it all back in the fridge to set up for a few hours. Then I realized we still needed to eat dinner tonight.

I used this as a reference for salsa, because I’m REALLY good at forgetting to add something until it’s time to taste… Then I usually forget what the hell it is that’s missing. I get really furtootzed at work some days, and today was one of those days (really, who agrees to work on a Saturday? Crazy people, that’s who…) so, I tossed a few things in the food processor:
1 can peeled whole toms, drained
1-1/2 pint of almost wrinkly grape tomatoes
3 teensy cloves of garlic
1 small strange purple scallion from my CSA share
1/4 onion
1/2 tsp chili powder (turns out I didn’t have any more jalepenos in the freezer…)
some olive oil

pulse until it looks like… salsa. taste, add salt and pepper to taste. taste again.

I’m trying to beef up, if you will (no pun intended), my ability to make side dishes. Also, let’s be honest, the Patriots started training camp on Thursday and you can never start trying out Superbowl recipes out too soon. Everything should be fairly seamless on the big day. Last year went pretty well, but I also saw some nachos on Restaurant Impossible the other night, and Lay’s chips have been on sale for the last MILLION YEARS at the grocery stores, so I bought a few bags and we (thankfully) move slowly through junk foods. Time to make those chips move!

And so I bring you:
Loaded Baked Potato Chip Nachos
adapted from Kerry Saretzky, Seriouseats.com

preheat oven to 400 F
fry 4 slices of bacon, cut into 1/2″ or smaller slices
take some taco meat, set aside in a small bowl
grate about 8-10 oz of cheese (or less if you like less cheese… you weirdo!)
chop up some scallions
make sure you have some sour cream

get pie dish, fill halfway (or so) with potato chips
top with meat, bacon, cover with cheese.
bake for about 10 minutes, or until chops start to brown and cheese is totally melted.

top with scallions and a few dollops of sour cream, put some salsa on, or force whoever you are eating with to ladle the salsa onto their plate instead of dipping in large bowl that should be saved and refridgerated, NEVER double-dipped into. Eeegaaads! I almost lost my shit there for a moment. It’s all better now. We ladled. It’s cool.

and then my new favorite gluttonous way of ending a meal….

mmm, oreos cracked up and topping vanilla ice cream.

