zucchini overload

Posted on July 29, 2012

9




This weeks CSA brought a multitude of summer squash. Holy crap. So much zucchini! And what do you do when life (or your CSA) hands you zucchini? Make a full meal of zucchini. Or, well. That’s what I did. It was good, and didn’t even feel like an overdose of squash.

it’s like carbonara, with zucchini.

  • 4 slices bacon, sliced crosswise into 1/2-inch strips
  • 4 medium yellow squash (8 ounces each), quartered lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
  • 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated cheese

Boil water for pasta. Salt it well.

In a pan, cook about 5 pieces of bacon.
When cooked fully, but not too crispy, fish the bacon out with a slotted spoon, and set aside on paper towel, or paper bag to drain rest of grease from them.
In the pan, with grease from the bacon still in there, add chopped zucchini and garlic.
Cook covered until zucchini is softened.
Cook uncovered until liquid has evaporated (or mostly has…) add cream and pasta, toss while cooking on low, until it thickens up. add bits of bacon and add grated cheese. Serve hot or room temperature.

I had the feeling that I should make something to snack on before we ate a full dinner. Also, somebody still wasn’t home for dinner, so I needed to do something to keep myself busy before I ate the ENTIRE pound of pasta while standing in front of the stove.

fritters, anyone? good for an app…
adapted from martha stewart’s website…

  • 1 pound (about 2 medium) zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated lemon zest (1 lemon)
  • 10 sprigs fresh flat-leaf parsley, stems removed and leaves finely chopped, plus more sprigs for garnish (i used dried, because I didn’t have any fresh….)
  • 1 medium clove garlic, peeled and minced ( I replaced with garlic scapes, so I could use up the rest of the ones that I had from the CSA)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 to 4 tablespoons olive oil

 

In a medium bowl: Mix everything together. the mixture is a wet one, which is good, cause then they level out well in the pan when you spoon them on. Resist (as I did) the urge to add any more flour, or bread crumbs, you’ll thank me later. It tastes good just like it reads. It’s really tough for me not to change up a recipe while I’m making it. Sometimes it’s totally intentional… sometimes it’s not.

In a good sized skillet, pour roughly 2 tbspns of evoo, and heat until the spits when you drop a little of the fritter mix in it. Pour about 2-3 tablespoons of mix for each fritter. Cook until browned on one side, flip and cook the other side (duh…) it’s like 4-ish minutes, on my stove… But watch them, and I ripped the first one to see if it was cooked evenly enough.

I put more grated cheese on my pasta. You can NEVER have enough cheese.

I do realize these were both martha stewart recipes. Don’t freak out, those of whom reading this know how I feel about Ms. It’s a good thing! It really was a good thing that I found these recipes, otherwise the fridge would still be packed to the gills with zucchini.

