simple bananas foster french toast

Posted on July 28, 2012

2




I watched, as I do many nights, The Triple D (diners, drive-ins, and dives with Guy Fieri) while cooking dinner the other night, and saw him chow down on some delicious looking bananas foster french toast. I wondered if I couldn’t (given i had enough coffee on said morning) try to replicate the breakfast.

Over a week later, I found myself, hungry, looking through the fridge in the hopes that something would jump out at me. When nothing did, I decided to make bacon and ponder what to do next… French toast was suggested, and I instantly remembered I wanted to try it with bananas, and as I had some bananas that were destined to be banana bread if not used up quickly- it worked out perfectly—- with the exception of the many ingredients I later found out I would need…

bananas foster french toast
adapted from Paula Dean

4   large eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 tspn vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
butter to grease pan
4-5 slices of bread of choice
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3/4 cup maple syrup

1 cup chopped pecans  unless allergic!

4-6 ripe bananas, halved crosswise and lengthwise
1 teaspoon rum extract (or a teaspoon of water if you don’t stock alcohol, like me…)

Whisk in medium bowl:
vanilla extract, eggs, cream, and cinnamon

Coat both sides of bread of choice, while melting the butter on a skillet, or grill. Cook for 2-3 minutes on each side until the egg has been browned well on each side.

In a skillet: combine brown sugar, maple syrup. Bring to a light boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat, and simmer for 2 minutes. Add banana halves and rum extract, or water. Coat with the syrup mixture, and simmer 1 minute.

Plate your toast, and then spoon bananas and syrup over the toast.

Posted in: bread, breakfast, carbs, eggs, meats