salad dressing

Posted on July 27, 2012

1




A good salad dressing is sometimes hard to find. I usually don’t buy any salad dressings from the grocery store, unless they are on sale, like – deep sale and even then, I usually only buy a few italian dressings (for pasta salad making) and the occasional ranch dressing, for dipping some yuppie carrots and other veggies into. When I can (… once in the last year) I get my little sister to make some salad dressing for me. She’s a salad dressing making pro.

When my sister isn’t available, I make do, and make my own. I’m not sure that I can work with a recipe. And in that sense. I can’t then write down an exact recipe.

A nice simple meal, for me, especially when I don’t want to have to think about what I’m cooking, is a salad, either rice pilaf, or annies mac n cheese (oh, yes, out of a BOX, que lastima!) and some steak tips. It’s simple to make, especially with my CSA share bringing in so many fresh vegetables, it’s almost hard to keep up without making a salad once or twice a week.

This meal also goes pretty well with this beer. I don’t know much about pairing things, but I do know what goes down ok. And this went down just fine.

In a jar (to shake) or in a little pyrex bowl (something that won’t break if you mix it up with a fork…) get some

balsamic vinegar, maybe 5-6 tbsp, mix that with a

small clove of minced garlic (or minced garlic scapes? I know I’ve had a LOT of those in from the CSA lately) a

“long pour of honey” which, is if you are me, and squeezing a honey bear, two squeezes.

Evoo, just about as much blasamic as you added.

Some salt and pepper to taste, and whatever other seasoning you prefer. Shake or mix well and drizzle over your mealsalad. Eat yo’greens!

dressing – mixed in a jar

The other night I made a salad with arugula (because it came in my CSA share) and sliced grape tomatoes. I found this recipe for a dressing that would go with the salad. It is fairly crucial that you have enough fresh grated parmesan. I had enough but I didn’t want to use it all up on this dressing that I didn’t know if I would like…

  1. 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  2. 5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  3. 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  4. 1 teaspoon lemon zest

Mix these up and then dump them over some clean, fresh, arugula and some tomatoes chopped up small.

