Chocolatechocolatechip Zucchini Bread

Posted on June 29, 2012

1




Sometimes you need something sweet. Sometimes it doesn’t have to be a recipe “to a tee” because, honestly, how many of you keep sour cream in your fridge at all times… and if no sour cream, do you always have yogurt and or buttermilk kicking around in there? Oh, oh, you do? Where do you live? Let’s be neighbors and borrow from eachother’s let me invade your kitchens! Deal? Deal.

I found a recipe for zucchini bread, really I found about a MILLION recipes for this, but didn’t want to make some blah bread that nobody would enjoy. I find that sometimes all you have to tack on to google search query is “best recipe EVER” and it will come up with some ideas you maybe wouldn’t have gotten to all by your lonesome after a long day of work…

these are the wet ingredients

Chocolatechocolatechip Zucchini Bread
adapted from Our Best Bites

preheat oven to 350F
Butter and flour loaf pans and set aside.

dry ingredients (mix them more than this…)

 

In a bowl mix together and set aside:
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
pinch of baking powder (to offset using applesauce instead of canola oil)
6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

Don’t add baking powder unless doing some bizarre changeup of ingredients like I do all the time – I should have bought stock in google, or something! The amount of times I type in “substitute for… in baking” is OUT OF CONTROL. I should just start writing down things that I almost always run out of, or hardly ever buy and just make it easy on myself…
1/2 cup canola oil* (used applesauce cup mixed with heavy cream — please don’t ask why! but do see note next to baking powder above!)
1 cup white granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 medium eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/3 cup heavy cream/applesauce (recipe called for 1/2 cup sour cream)
3 cup grated zucchini (I used a large and a small zucchini – it was probably a little bit less than 3 cups, grated)

In your stand mixer (or large bowl and wisk – I ain’t hatin!) put these wet ingredients in: oil, sugars, and mix to combine. Add eggs, vanilla and sour cream (or substitutes) and combine. I used the small grater side of my grater, and added the zucchini little by little while mixing the wet ingredients together. 

chips with flour mixture

3/4 cups mini chocolate chips

Take a few spoonfulls of the flour mixture you set aside and toss the mini chocolate chips in it, this (as it turns out) makes them clump up less when you add the chips in. Add all of zucchini to wet mixture. Beat until combined.
Add flour little by little until it’s fully mixed in.
Add chocolate chips in.
Use a spatula and check that there isn’t anything stuck in the bottom of the bowl, and then pour into greased pans.  

(Optional?)Topping:
2 tablespoon brown sugar
2 tablespoon white sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder

Mix topping sugars up and lay on top before baking. Cook for about 45 mins (I set the timer for 30 mins cause I used a 3×5 pan and an 8″ loaf pan and didn’t want the wee one to go up in flames) check with a toothpick or something pushed in the tallest point until it comes out clean. Spread a little (or a lot… don’t judge me!) butter on it, grab a glass of milk and kick back and chomp down. 


I have to say this was a pleasent surprise that it didn’t suck (what with all my substitutions and not really measuring the zucchini all that well at all. It was good enough that my boyfriend who doesn’t even like sweet things went and got himself a few slices after asking why I’d make something so weird and snagging a few bites of mine…

i like to drink my simplysmart out of pint glasses… but only when it’s filled like a 1/4 the way up

