csa share : week 3

Posted on June 26, 2012

2




Ok, so, this was really “week one” but, who’s counting, really…?

It’s a funny story, how I signed up for my CSA share this year. Well, at least my friend Steph who I’m sharing my share with this year thought it was funny. I went out for food and drinks (emphasis on the drinks, margaritas, to be exact) with my sisters and a friend. I had two (or almost/just less than two) margaritas and had trouble walking down the stairs of the restaurant and out into the sunshine. My sisters and friend decided to leave as soon as they had taken me to buy cigarettes so I wouldn’t have to go alone, since I felt tipsy. I was hungry, wanted and needed to go food shopping. I spent my afternoon incapacitated, drinking coffee to sober up, messing around on the computer, and apparently this turned into… a little online shopping. Ta-dah! We got a share from a farm I’d never heard about before!

Any who. We’ve had cucumbers, spinach, arugula, bok choy, lettuce, flat parsley, and a few other things. We’ve also had garlic scapes, which I love. I made some good arugula/garlic scape pesto, which I used for crostini that I made a little while ago. This week we came back from our trip up north, and had a kind of blah day off, in which we ran a few small errands that were necessary, but not all that interesting… I forced myself up off the couch, being a miserable bump on a log, to make supper.

About an hour before dinner I pulled meatballs out of the freezer, to defrost in the fridge. In a medium-large sauce pan, I made some sauce.
Sauce
28 oz can plum tomatoes (squish with your hand, but watch out, they might squirt out at you…)
1 little can of tomato paste
fresh curly parsley
fresh basil, from my basil plant/centerpiece
garlic scapes – diced, about 2 tbspn
salt and pepper to taste
3 tbspn unsalted butter
crushed red pepper to taste
a pinch of italian seasoning

Simmer for about an hour and a half or so… Longer is always better, it is sauce, after all.

Serve with fettucini, or any other kinds of pasta that you have. If you want, you can toss the meatballs in with the sauce at least about 30 minutes before you serve the pasta, so that the meatballs can soak up the sauce, and heat allllll the way through.

What I also did was try to empty the crisper drawer. This is something that I really should be better at, or do more efficiently, I should say. I try often, but sometimes it doesn’t seem to come “together” quite like it should.

vegetable saute
in a saute pan
2 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp unsalted butter
garlic scapes, diced
shallots, diced
little bag of teeny potatoes, sliced widthwise
1 large zucchini, sliced widthwise, roughly 1/4″ thick
cook down until lightly browned, and cooked through.

