scones and other breakfast foods : on vacation

Posted on June 25, 2012

0




This was the view from the deck – 180 degrees of mountain tops, treetops, lots of clouds and green. My dad did a great job finding the house that we rented, in Glover, VT. There was already discussion about returning the next year to rent the house again for a family vacation by the time we were leaving to head home. The view from this deck allowed us to watch a storm come in from Canada, slowly, approaching the fields in which the house was situated.

We had planned to bring most of the food we were going to make and eat, so that we wouldn’t have to take a great amount of time out of whatever relaxation we could find to go food shopping. Not to mention that there is hardly ANYWHERE in Vermont that isn’t an hour or more of a drive from ANYWHERE you might be. Stopping at Market Basket (5 minutes from home) on my way home from work, when I already had to go there to shop for food for the week made infinitely more sense to me.

I made up a tupperware container with the dry ingredients before we took the massively long drive – enough for 10-12 scones, I hoped. I figured there would be a milk product and I would bring enough butter for a stick to be used up for the dough. I waited until Sunday morning to make these. I felt like they were a little dry, so I added some egg, because I always remembered scones having eggs in the dough. I added a bit too much, because instead of being able to lay this out and cut it up, it was too soupy and I had to ladle it onto the pan. They ended up being better than I expected them to be!

“Muffin Top” Scones

2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup granulated white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into pieces
1-1/2 eggs
2/3 cup milk*

*milk ended up being half and half mixed with a bit of water… Poor planning and packing while vacationing…

Bake at 450 degrees, for 15 minutes.

wrap up in a clean dish towel to keep warm until everybody is awake and ready to eat….

The scones ended up being light, VERY, very flat, as far as scones are concerned. More like a muffin top, in shape. Very light, and tasted really good with fresh strawberries, chopped up small, with a little sugar mixed in, left to sit in the fridge to soak up and be a little like a fresh jam. We also had soft butter, and lemon curd to spread as well, to each persons taste.

We had breakfast sandwiches on Saturday which were really good. I brought MORE than enough bacon, and just about enough eggs for everybody to eat enough to start the day. After not too much convincing, I got my mum to use up the leftover onion, black olives, and goat cheese to mix up an omelette and top it with goat cheese. It smelled, and looked good.

egg, bacon, avocado on a bagel with hot sauce.

Once breakfast was made and eaten, it was time to sit down and put my feet up, literally, because… isn’t that what you are supposed to do on vacation, in between all the running around and insanity that is involved in going anywhere with your family?


