Drinks of Summer : Sira’s Sangria

Posted on June 19, 2012

6




This is now my go-to drink for summer (when I want to go shopping for a variety of fruits that rarely grace my fridge shelves…) to make in a pitcher- I wouldn’t dare to make it if I didn’t have at least two other people drinking it with me, cause that would be a waste of a good drink, and the fruit is DEADLY full of liquor by the next day, you almost can’t taste the original flavor of the fruits…

If you have the kind of self control (read: distractions) that I had the other night, and leave it to chill overnight in the fridge, and then almost the entire next day, it changed from the white wine color, and comes out this pretty cantaloupe type of color.

Sira is my sister. She introduced me to this sangria recipe, and I don’t think I’ll want it any other way now. It’s so light, and fresh tasting, and just sweet enough – I hate when something that is supposed to be refreshing ends up being syrupy and disappointing. This is not that.

Sira’s Sangria
adapted from  Sangria Without Apologies: The Best Sangria Recipes

In a large pitcher:
6-8 raspberries, washed and dried
6-10 strawberries, washed, dried and  cut in 1/4″ thick slices (I cut them widthwise…)
2 peaches, washed, dried,  and sliced into 1/4″ slices
1 lb (+/-) green seedless grapes, washed and dried (only used these because they were on sale, would’ve bought a variety otherwise…)
1 lg orange, sliced thinly, widthwise
1 750ml bottle of sauvignon blanc
1/4 cup cointreau
1-1/2 cup St Germain
1/2 to 1 cup small ice cubes

i really should invest in a more attractive pitcher…

You can either let it sit on the counter for 3-4 hours, or what I did, in an effort to keep all the counters cleaned up, let it sit in the fridge overnight. Fill each wine glass with ice and pour sangria over it, pick out a few pieces of fruit with a slotted spoon, and enjoy! This can be shared with a few friends, but makes sure you have enough ice, and maybe a back up bottle of wine, and the rest of the liquor to mix up another one of these if you run out!

