Crostini with goat cheese, arugula pesto, and prosciutto

Posted on June 18, 2012

16




I wasn’t sure if we would be having any vegetarians over for Sunday Supper, for fathers day. I was almost certain our cousin didn’t eat meat (I was right) and there was a possibility my sisters roommate would join us, and she is a pescatarian.

I had swedish meatballs as an appetizer, but I figured I could worry less about a mass production of ravioli if I had a second appetizer, and if I could make a salad- if time allowed. This whole timing thing – even when I start things WAY ahead of time, like the day before, it’s tough to get shit done efficiently. I’m sure it’s a personal malfunction…

I made bread dough Saturday night to sit in the fridge overnight til Sunday morning. I figured this was the less expensive option, and even though I have a hard time saying no to a fresh baguette while shopping, they harden like you wouldn’t believe overnight…

Artisan Bread

3 cups warm water (100degreesF)
1-1/2 tbspn yeast
1-1/2 tbspn kosher salt
6-1/2 cups flour, plus more for dusting
cornmeal, for baking sheet

In a large bowl, mix: yeast, salt, water, stir in flour a bit at a time until combined. Will remain wet/loose dough, conforming to shape of bowl.

Let rise on countertop for 2-5 hours, room temp, until it starts to fall in on itself. I covered it with plastic wrap so it didn’t get dirty, or splashed by something…
Refrigerate overnight.
(follow directions on original website for after refrigeration…)

I got distracted and wasn’t sure if i had put the proper amount of flour in- my fault for not washing the 1 cup measuring cup and trying to keep count with a 1/2 cup, and the TV on… I think it was right, the consistency of the dough was a bit wet, and formed to the bowl, which is how it was described.

This sat in a large Pyrex bowl, covered in plastic wrap til it seemed to start to fall in on itself. Then, from roughly 8pm to 11am it sat in the fridge.

This is a good bread to make while multitasking (aside from the whole measurement quasi-fiasco…) because it suggests that you let the dough rest for quite a while between forming the baguettes.

I made 3 loaves. They weren’t really the same size, but I was going to cut them up anyways, so, it didn’t seem to matter so much.

Bake these for about 25 mins @ (fill in temp when I get home) or until golden brown and hollow sounding when you tap the bottom. Let them cool completely.

To make crostini, one should cut these a little less half hazardly than I did. They should be thin, and not as randomly sized as I made them. If you brush them with olive oil and bake them for another 15 minutes as the blog I found them on suggests, they become ROCK HARD. In edible, especially if you might have some concerns about your teeth to begin with…

I made most of my “crostini” without toasting (or baking for a second time) because they were too tough to eat.

these are clearly NOT 1/4″ thick, perhaps that was part of the problem…

I spread goat cheese, and arugula pesto on them (read: I had my mum do this so I could get the Swedish meatballs ready to eat) and then on the non-vegetarian ones I took a slice of prosciutto (thinly sliced), ripped it into roughly four pieces, and placed it on top.

I wish I could’ve taken a picture of what this ended up looking like, but everybody was starving, and we ate them all before I got a chance… If I have any leftover bread I’ll be making a few more with dinner tonight and may catch them before they are gobbled up.

