Father’s Day Weekend pt 1- 1/2

Posted on June 17, 2012

2




oh, hello, sangria!

In order to try to make tomorrow less hectic, and include more sleeping and laundry. I have tried to prep things in a way that I’ve never attempted before. I have a few things to do tomorrow, but I’m hoping the majority of them can be done while cleaning the house and doing laundry.

This is how my day went…

  1. Get in touch with little sister. Go dress shopping for wedding next weekend. Find dress, get discount on dress, plan to drop off at dry cleaners, fail to drop off at dry cleaners. Get lunch at restaurant that is usually too full on weekends for us to find a seat. Find shoes, buy shoes, drop sister off to do her laundry, confirm ideas about menu for tomorrow.
  2. Get flour sifter – change life.
  3. Go food shopping.
  4. Get home, start by cleaning dishes, because there is nothing worse than making any dishes with an already full sink. It makes me feel like I don’t want to clean anything – let alone the dishes you are about to, or have just made.
  5. Make sangria*, force self not to drink it right away.
  6. Make pasta for dinner to have with a few meatballs and gravy.
  7. Make swedish meatballs. Eat 3 with dinner, with gravy.
  8. Make bread dough for crostini with arugula pesto, goat cheese and proscuitto which needs to sit overnight, apparently.
  9. Make chocolate cake.
I have been searching for a recipe for swedish meatballs that makes sense to me. I’ve read a few and either they seem far too complicated for me to follow easily. I finally found one that made sense.

Swedish Meatballs
Alton Brown

2 slices white bread
1/4 c milk
3 tbsp drawn butter**
1/2 cup finely chopped
1 tsp & 1 pinch of salt
2 lbs ground chuck and ground pork (I used mostly pork, cause it was cheaper)
2 eggs (large, if you have it)
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 ground allspice
1/4 nutmeg
Gravy:
1/4 all-purpose flour
3 cups beef broth
1/4 cup heavy cream

preheat oven: 200F

in a small bowl: tear white bread and pour milk over it – set aside.
take a skillet and heat 1 tablespoon of clarified/drawn butter and pinch of salt with onions until soft.

in a stand mixer, combine the bread/milk, ground meats, egg yolks, 1 tsp salt, pepper and spices and onions. beat for a few minutes until combined.

try really hard to imagine what 1 ounce looks like – roll the meatballs into that size. hope that it’s the right size.

use remaining 2 tbsp of drawn butter in skillet to saute the meatballs until golden brown on each side, 8-10 mins. put in an ovensafe dish, and when cooked through in skillet, put in oven.

ready for the oven

make gravy with flour, broth and cream if you prefer. if not, save the meatballs for tomorrow to warm up with jalepeno apple jelly. I did both, cause I made some farfalle to eat for dinner and I had three meatballs, drizzled the whole thing with gravy, and I have to say, it wasn’t half bad.
Bread Dough

In a large bowl, mix:
3 cups of warm water (roughly 100F)
1-1/2 tbsp yeast
1-1/2 tbsp salt
6-1/2 cups all purpose flour

Mix until there are no dry spot. dough will be kind of gelatinous, and keep the contours of the bowl. I can’t say with 100% certainty that I actually put 6 and a half cups of flour in this… I was a little distracted by… life? Something.

The recipe said to let it rise for 3-5 hours until it started to fall in on itself, loosely covered with something (I chose plastic wrap) then store in fridge overnight. I did that too. I will be making baguettes tomorrow to make crostinis with it tomorrow. I hope it turns out ok!

Chocolate Cake
I made it exactly as the recipe suggests. I’m getting too tired to explain all that right now… But they came out fairly short levels. After a quick discussion, I may not have to do much more with it, or make more layers, depending on how much food I have already for tomorrow, but I may make a few more layers, and I still need to decide which icing I’ll be making too…

*The sangria deserves it’s own post. I will update it once we actually start drinking it.

**drawn butter is taking milk fats from butter. it can be done easily in a microwave, a 2 cup measuring cup, and 5-6 tbsp of unsalted butter, chop into slices, wait until it foams up, then let it stand (in fridge) and take a spoon and clean off the bubbles, retain yellow butter on bottom for recipe.

