banana bread made with greek yogurt and chocolate chips

Posted on May 31, 2012

5




I bought mini semi sweet chocolate chips roughly two months ago. I had these wild and crazy ideas of making something tasty with them. So I put them away in the cabinet and totally forgot about them.

Until today on my ride home from work. I was thinking of all the things it might be possible to make without going food shopping. This was key. I couldn’t bear stepping into the grocery store for a THIRD time this week. Truly, the only upside to being as forgetful and I am is I can almost ALWAYS jump into the “20 items or less line” eventhough if you have exactly twenty items it seems, some of them take almost more time counting the items to make sure you aren’t breaking the rules, than they do ringing the whole order up. Bizzare, I know. Total waste of everybody’s time. This is why I prefer the 12 items or less lane, which I frequent less often…

mix wet and dry ingredients separately, then fold the wet into the dry

The fridge and freezer have been fairly crowded as of late, so I gladly took the opportunity to empty things out, instead of add anything to the mix. In the freezer there are (or were?) about three bags of VERY brown, very ripe bananas that I’d frozen a long time ago. It was time to start chipping away at these, 2-3 at a time.

After settling on what to make for dinner without having to go food shopping, I managed to search around until I could find a banana bread that didn’t mean I’d have to run to the store.

chocolate chips count as a “wet ingredient”…. incase you were wondering… I also might put less than a cup next time, since chocolate is not really my thang…

I got to use my new measuring cups from my Stonewall Kitchen expedition over the weekend. Oh, how nice it is not to have to measure things in 1/3 of a cup… The world seems to be seriously lacking in recipes calling for 1/3 or 2/3 cup of anything!

after folding in… a sea of chocolate chips!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
adapted By Heidi, from The New Best Recipe Cookbook from Cook’s Illustrated,
then adapted again by moi, from foodiecrush.com

In a large bowl:
2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1 cup pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped i’m allergic to nuts, so I omitted this ingredient

In another, slightly smaller bowl mix the following:

3 bananas, very ripe and mashed well (about 1 1/2 cups)
1/4 cup vanilla greek yogurt (I used chobani, cause it was on sale…)
2 large eggs, beaten lightly
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (add a teaspoon if you are using plain yogurt, not vanilla)
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour bottom and sides of a 9-by-5-by-3-inch loaf pan two 3×5 inch loaf pans and set aside.
2. Whisk first five ingredients together in large bowl; set aside.
3. In a medium bowl mix mashed bananas, yogurt, eggs, butter, vanilla and chocolate chips. Gently fold banana mixture into dry ingredients until just combined. Scrape batter into prepared loaf pan. Be sure to leave enough room for these to raise in the loaf pan… I forgot about that and things started to overflow a little…

4. Bake for about 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean and top is golden brown. Cool in pan for 5 minutes then transfer to wire rack. Serve warm with butter or at room temperature.

20120601-092459.jpg

