Meatballs

Posted on May 19, 2012

4




I have a strange kitchen handicap. I can only make certain amounts of certain things.

Coffee? If I don’t make 10 cups, it’s a shitshow. Somehow I can’s even halve the ratio and get it right. You would think after my years of slinging lattés at independent cafés and then Starbucks should allow for easy brewing at home. That’d be a no.

Good thing I like coffee.

Meatballs. I can only make 3lbs of beef chuck into meatballs. Again, the ratio is doable. Any other amount of meat and I’m stymied!

I came home the other night and it was cool enough in the house that I didn’t fear using the oven- its been nice, sunny and in the high 60’s this week, reaching 70s with a light breeze during the day. When the sun goes down the light breeze makes for a good cross breeze while cooking.

Meatballs it was!

  • 3 lbs ground chuck
  • 1 1/2 c dried bread crumbs (seasoned or plain)
  • 12 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 c whole milk
  • 2 c grated Romano (or parm/ramano mix)
  • 1 c grated onion (spanish)
  • 1/2 c finely diced fresh garlic
  • 1/2 c finely chopped Italian flat parsley (fresh)
  • 1/2 c finely chopped basil leaves (fresh)

Step one is find a BIG BOWL. Start mixing your ingredients in. Make sure to mix in break up clumps of meat, and pockets of cheese, ecc.

Step two, put all your ingredients on the counter. It will make it easier to mix it by hand if you have everything ready to dump in – you will have nasty hands covered in sticky meat, and you will not want to have to keep washing your hands to get things out of the fridge.

Mixing this stuff together takes forever, by hand, but I can’t really think of any other good way to do it effectively. I think if it weren’t such a heavy concoction you could probably mix it with something else, but 3 lbs is a lot of weight for anything other than one’s hands…

when you cook them in the oven, some of the fat comes off onto the baking sheet.

I know a lot of people make meatballs about the size of a golf ball, or something like that, but I have a tendency to make large meatballs, cause then I can freeze them 4 to a bag, and then the two of us can have 2 each per meal, which is more than enough meatball in one sitting. I like to use parchment paper, or tin foil, because the cookie sheets we have don’t fit in the sink, or the dishwasher, or really even store very well anywhere – it makes the clean up that much easier.

this recipe makes an ARMY of meatballs – make sure you have space in the freezer beforehand!

These cook at 350 degrees, make sure you preheat your oven while you start rolling these out! If you don’t use parchment paper, or something else that is non-stick, use a little olive oil based cooking spray (or drizzle a little and rub in, this way your hands are a little bit greased to aid in rolling them out and not just covering your hands in meat…)

I had my dinner with penne, red sauce (that I’ll post later today) and a slice of bread with butter, because what’s dinner if you can’t carboload, am I right?!

plate that isssh, and enjoy

