Chicken Stir Fry = dinner under $10.00

Posted on May 17, 2012

3




If I had stopped to think about it for a second or two, I would have remembered that my better other half doesn’t like stir fry. But I didn’t, did I?

In a word, no.

I saw noodles on sale at Market Basket for $1.25, and thought oooh, that seems like a quick dinner that I could walk away from and get other things done (being able to shower and or start laundry while things cook delights me more than it probably should, but I don’t get out that much anymore…

I had left overs from BBQ chicken, which I used sweet baby rays sauce on, it’s a bit sweet and I figured it would be able to mix in with soy sauce without tasting too funny. I was mostly right on that count.

I chopped up a few onions, and some vegetable oil and let those cook down til transparent. Added some carrots, thinly sliced.

Water chestnuts, sliced in half (quarters?) and some baby corn chopped up in thirds. Add in noodles just to warm at the end – make some sticky white rice to have on the side, and there you have it. All in all the meal costs somewhere about $6 to make and I ate it for lunch the next day.

Kinda boring. Kind of an uneventful meal. But there you have it – sometimes I’m boring, and sometimes I make things that people don’t eat cause they don’t like them.

The key is, don’t go unload large pieces of furniture while this is simmering to stay warm, no matter how nicely they ask.  While you are out there, your dinner will get very dry.

