ravioli, sauce and bread

Posted on May 16, 2012

8




I have discussed making ravioli numerous times. It used to be a staple to many family meals. My aunt and I have “gone into production” making ravioli together, and when we were going out for her birthday the other night we saw this antique printshowing all these different kinds of pasta hanging in my little sister’s kitchen and we began discussing the next time we would churn out pasta together. Now we even have machines that turn themselves, no more crank handles necessary, though I’d like to use our manual machine again.

mixing ravioli dough

I decided that I would make a meal with many pieces that I’ve made before, just not use any recipes that I was familiar with to try to shake things up a bit. I used them mostly as guidelines, rather than actual recipes.

Bread was started first, as it has to sit and raise for about 30 minutes (length of time according to the recipe, or when it doubles in size) which was just enough down time for me to start making the dough for the ravioli. I had almost spaced these things out just in time for me not to get totally overwhelmed, though I’m pretty sure the kitchen looked a huge mess when my boyfriend walked through the door. My look was probably dazed, or sheepish due to my mess.

bread before it raises

The texture of the bread was really good. It was nice and soft, and is still on it’s second day. It made a small loaf, I may double this recipe and make a few loaves next time. I need to flour my counter surface a little more when I’m making into a loaf as well, because my hands were a little wet from evoo and things got a little excessively sticky…

This ravioli seemed like it was quick and easy to follow. I adjusted the recipe to use what I had, and what I wanted to use up from the fridge.

Filling: adapted from Emeril Lagasse

This seemed to be a little on the small side, for the amount of dough that it made. It also said to put 2 tablespoons full on each one. This seemed too much, and so I put one and a half instead. I figured since I 86’d the ham, the filling would be significantly smaller, and so I ended up getting rid of a handful of (then drying) dough that remained unused.

I rolled out the dough, and eyeballed it for 1/8″… I figured something between numbers 2-3 on my pasta attchment for my kitchenaid were close enough. I stuck with #2. I probably will try #3 next time…

It said to use a cookie cutter after folding the filled ravioli on itself. I opted to squish by hand, then cut with a sharp knife, then push down sides with a fork. It just felt more “normal” to do that than this crazy cookie cutter business. Plus, I don’t have a 3″ cookie cutter, and if you’ve ever heard the sound of grinding a 3″ glass into a granite countertop, it would stop you in your tracks as it did me. Yikes!

Once everything else was done cooking, I boiled a pot of water and salted it fairly well. I then cooked these ravioli until they floated to the top, it was maybe a little bit more than 3 minutes… Maybe just a little longer.

do not walk away from the stove at this point…

It said to let them dry on a paper towel, and I did, but afterwards I wondered why I didn’t just set up the strainer and let them drain that way – it’s got really small mesh, I don’t think it would’ve been much different, and it would’ve wasted WAY less paper towels…

waste of paper towels…

I then plated them and we ate.

Sauce was found, via pintrest? I’m not sure. I’m kinda forgetful when it comes to these things. It very well could’ve been flipbook, which is where I see most of the recipes I want to try. Either way, I am pretty sure I ruined it by forgetting to season it to taste, and by adding this weird Johnsonville italian sausage I happened to see at Market Basket and bought and then stuck in the sauce without even smelling it. It made the sauce taste a bit hot-dog-y, if you ask me. Eeeew.

Bruschetta

Take bread, let it cool longer than I did.

Cut in decent sized hunks.

mix fresh basil and chopped up tomatoes together – add a touch of honey (sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t…)

toast bread, if you like, or grill it to be fancy…

top with basil/tom, cover with thinly sliced fresh mozz, and drizzle with balsamic and evoo.

And that my friends is the kind of dinner that Aunty Cathy and I wax poetic about. How I managed to do all this on a Monday evening is totally beyond me, usually I’m too pooped to pop. Either way, it was tasty. My boyfriend took the leftover ravioli to work for lunch and he said that he thought they were even better than when they were piping hot just out of the paper towels water.

Happy Birthday Aunty Cathy! Next time, I’ll know I’m making this ahead of time and invite you over!

