Tiramisu : hold the eggs

Posted on May 14, 2012

2




I was listening to the radio on my way to work and they said they had a survey that said that 80+ % of mothers don’t like their mothers day gifts. Great way to start out the week, no matter what I get her, she won’t like it.

In the spirit of life handing me lemons, I went and bought some at Trader Joe’s, a bag of four organic good looking lemons for $1.99! Didn’t think that was bad at all. (see lemon tart disaster, next post…)

I had bought mascarpone cheese a week or so on sale at Market Basket, i don’t think I’ve ever seen it under $3/lb before. So even without a plan or recipe, I bought it- we were inching ever closer to the expiration date. After a dreadful meal out, the only bright part of which was the Celtics win over the 76ers, I decided to bake- also I spent part of my afternoon watching the very bad madefortvmovie Reviving Ophelia, the end of which described baking as a soothing thing to do.

Soothe I did.

No Egg Tiramisu


Plus, I’ve decided that if I make something for my mum for Mother’s day, she’ll HAVE to like it!

(makes 9x9x2, and two small parfaits)

Step one: make a strong cup of coffee, I do double strength, or use instant espresso until I get desired strength, you can also opt for decaf if you have people sensitive to caffeine chill in freezer, if pressed for time, or fridge, or on the counter- whatever you care to do
1 nip of espresso flavored vodka (also chilled)

When chilled mix together in a small bowl.

Step 2:
1 pint (less 1/2 c) heavy whipping cream
7-8 oz mascarpone cheese
1/2 c confectioners (also called icing or powdered) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Put cream in stand mixer, beat til it stands. Add sugar, mascarpone, and vanilla- mix on low just until combined.

Set aside in fridge until everything else is ready.

Step 3: find dish you want to make tiramisu in- I always go for glass, so you can see the layers- I also made two parfaits, one to test on a guinea pig (whoever was awake to taste it when done, having never even heard of espresso vodka before I was sure it would taste like rubbing alcohol mixed with whipped cream!) and one (if it didn’t turn out disastrous) for my mom.

Step 4: get coffee/vodka bowl, and dish and set up assembly line.

1 pk marguerite lady finger cookies (vanilla)

Dip, do not soak, in coffee mixture- which you should continue to stir while using, cause you can notice the separation of alcohol- put a layer in dish, cover with whipped cream, dust with unsweetened cocoa powder, about 1 1/2 tbs add another layer of cookies, then the rest of the whipped cream mixture. Dust top with cocoa powder, and add shaved chocolate (if you remembered to buy any, I didn’t….) and BOOM! You are done.

This can be refrigerated for roughly two days before its soggy and strange, but it rarely lasts long enough to do so in my house.

 

Posted in: cakes, sauce/dip