Lemon Tart, a Mother’s Day disaster in the kitchen

Posted on May 14, 2012

7




I had lemons. I had motivation. I had time. I had recipes. I also had no idea what I was doing.

I’ve never made a tart before. Not a real one, anyways. I’ve used pie crust, and fruit, and not put a second crust on top, therefore making it not a pie, and a crust less pie by any other name (in my mind) is a tart.

I found a blog that had a for real tart on it. It was beautiful. I had to make it. It was going to be my mother’s day gift to my mum, because I’d decided if I made it by hand, she’d have to at least say that she liked it.

This tart, well, this blog really is one to follow, if you don’t already (I have a sneaking suspicion I’m one of the last to find these recipes and beautiful photos!) at the very least look around! They have a link on the recipe to a tart crust – pâte sucreé, I should say… I don’t usually make things with fancy names – the pressure felt like it was really ON.

I made this just as it said to make it – well, I made it at 1am so I’m almost fairly certain I followed directions pretty well. I was pressed for time the next morning, and couldn’t really decide, drink coffee, or zest lemon. The coffee won out 3 outta 4 times.

In the end, the filling didn’t set, but my mum ate it. She also ate the tiramisu parfait that I gave her. She dubbed them tasty. So even though it dripped in the bag that I carried it in the car with, and I was madly googling (though it seemed too late in the game to start figuring this out) —- was I supposed to refrigerate it to make it set up?!

No. I was supposed to cook it longer.

From what I can discern, Canada has WAY more food safety guidelines online, and from what I’ve read, I can’t have killed my mum from salmonella poisoning because of the time cooked (30 mins) and the temperature.

Oh, tarts! I’m going to have to figure out how to make this work. I like a lemon tart – I wish I had made them into little cupcake size ones. Perhaps I’ll have time next weekend for a second try… I can only hope to get this right… After all, I made enough pâte sucreé  to have extra to freeze for the next foray into tart making.

While I can’t make tarts yet, I can recieve awards from other bloggers – que es esto!? I got a comment from householdartsandscience – which included the Liebster Award. I’m incredibly excited that people are actually reading my blog, when they comment – even better, an award?! I don’t think I even deserve it – especially since my botched tart episode. But thank you, thank you, thank you!

I found these blogs recently that I really enjoy:
1. apuginthekitchen
2. juliette
3. growitcookitcanit
4. alittlebreather
5. wholelarderlove

(I’m sure most of them have over 200 followers, and if they don’t I’m shocked and appalled!)

7 random facts about me:
1. I hate mushrooms.
2. I am hard of hearing.
3. I am kind of a freak about cleanliness.
4. I love to drive.
5. My left food is slightly larger than my right foot.
6. I travelled to Texas and failed to eat bbq.
7. I only get my hair cut once a year, if that often.

Now let’s see if that’s covered the entire set of rules for the award…

The award comes with the following rules:
1. Thank the giver and link back to them.
2. Reveal your top five picks {with less than 200 readers} and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog. Share 7 random things about yourself.
4. Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their five favorite up-and-coming bloggers and keep it going! Enjoy the Love!

