Quick No-Bean Chili and Cornbread

Posted on May 13, 2012

0




After much time spent typing on my teensy iphone (wordpress app) and trying to post a few shorter posts to no avail, I gave up and went on vacation.

Literally.

We flew to Phoenix for a wedding. It was beautiful. Once I got past the fact that the weather is about 30+ degrees warmer than it was at home. Like a swift kick to the teeth, thats how refreshing the air was walking out of the airport at 7:45pm. When I say hot, I mean H-O-T, hot.

We ate out every meal, and what I’ve noticed about vacation is I don’t eat lunch, really. I go for a sometimes late, or early -dependent upon time zone status- breakfast, then supper, no sandwiches inbetween. Nada.

I yelped my way to coffee as soon as a Starbucks opened, found a walk able Mexican joint, and a Target for last minute items forgotten at home. Overall, I enjoyed it – even when the ladies at Starbucks didn’t understand my accent (which I didn’t think was noticeable at all, but the bellhop (are they still called that?) asked my boyfriend and I if we’d seen THE TOWN, and told him he sounded just like Ben Affleck, hmmm….). Things move quite a bit slower here than I’m used to, waking up at 3:30am every morning did NOT help my situation any either.

When we got back to reality, it was a cold, damp mess. This week has felt like the longest work week I’ve had in AGES. I couldn’t stand it. By the time I got back from work, I felt overwhelmingly sleepy. I refused to cook. But, on the upside we continued to explore the restaurants in our new neighborhood, so not everything born of laziness can be discounted…

Finally when I felt like I had the energy to go food shopping after work, I hit up Trader Joe’s- it was only a slight nightmare, but since I am so often covered in filth head to toe from work, people usually give me a wide berth (and crazy stares) this time w no exception.

The rain continued til Friday morning, so I figured I could make some cold weather food and warm up the house a little bit.

I found a Bon Apetit  recipe and altered it slightly to fit what I failed to shop for.

Quick No-Bean Chili

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onions, diced
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 chile pepper, chopped
6 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
3 pounds ground chuck
5 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 (6-ounce) can tomato paste

salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil, then add onions, and peppers. Cook until onions are translucent.

Add beef, cook til browned.

Add spices, leave for two mins, then stir aggressively til mixed in fully.

Add wet ingredients, bring to simmer, keep at simmer for roughly 1 hr and 15 mins, or desired consistency is met.

I also made corn bread, cause its good with warm, tomato based soups. I got the recipe from last weekends mother of the groom, Mrs Pepi. She knows good food, that lady. I’ve made it before, but this time I switched it up a little.

Pepi Cornbread

3/4 c frozen peas
2tbs butter (salted)
1/4 c buttermilk
1 egg
1 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 c greek yogurt
3/4 c corn meal
1/4 c sugar

bake at 375 until fork comes out clean and top is lightly browned.

this came out more cake-like than the one I made before with sour cream. I like it, though I think I’ll try it with regular milk and greek yogurt next time…

