shortbread cookies

Posted on April 14, 2012

0




I spent most of my day cleaning and doing laundry today. Since we’ve moved I have chosen not to work on the weekend. It’s been so nice to actually enjoy the place I’m living that I have sacrificed making (extra) money in order to sweep the floors, unpack things, make dinner, do dishes…

I found a recipe for shortbread cookies on a food blog that I’ve been looking for to link to this post for the past 20 minutes, and I can’t for the life of me figure out where I found that thing! I hope to find it to give credit soon, but I’m not sure when I can find the time to retrace my “steps” far enough into my browsing history to find it…

Shortbread Cookies
makes about 3 dozen cookies
preheat oven to 350 degrees!

1 c butter (room temperature)
1/2 c sugar (powdered)
2 c flour

in a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar, then add flour little by little. mix by hand in the end and make sure no flour is left at the bottom of the bowl!

flatten with bottom of a cup, or fork, whatever you want to use, depending on what you want the top of the cookie to look like. I chose a little glass to flatten with then poked a few times with a fork. these cookies don’t really get any bigger or flatter or anything in the oven. they cook for about 15 minutes. watch them and take them out when just the edges of the cookies get golden brown – pick one up and check the bottom of them, it should be golden brown as well.

I let them cool for just a few minutes, tasted a few, then put them away. They aren’t the sweetest I’ve ever had, but I like the texture a lot.

Had I gone food shopping this afternoon, instead of day drinking at lunch with my sisters and a friend, I would have tried this recipe as well. But since we just moved I’m not even sure where half the things are in all these cabinets, let alone if I had enough of it to make these.

